Joonas Kokkonen: Requiem; Complete Works for Organ

Catalogue No: TOCC0434
EAN/UPC: 5060113444349
Release Date: 2017-09-01
Composer: Joonas Kokkonen
Artists: Heikki Liimola, Jan Lehtola, Joose Vähäsöyrinki, Klemetti Institute Chamber Choir, Suvi Väyrynen

The music of Joonas Kokkonen (1921–96), one of the most important Finnish composers after Sibelius, radiates warmth and light. His limited output is largely introvert in character but also contains moments of grandeur and rhythmic energy. Kokkonen’s Requiem (1980–81), written in memory of his first wife, is both a powerful choral symphony and a tender, moving embodiment of consolation. Originally scored for large orchestra, the Requiem is heard here in a new version for organ intended to bring the work within the reach of smaller forces. This first recording is complemented by the first complete recording of Kokkonen’s four works for solo organ.

Suvi Väyrynen, soprano Tracks 3, 4, 6, 8-11
Joose Vähäsöyrinki, baritone Tracks 3, 4, 6, 8-11
Klemetti Institute Chamber Choir Tracks 3-11
Jan Lehtola, organ of Paavalinkirkko, Helsinki
Heikki Liimola, conductor Tracks 3-11

Listen To This Recording:

    Hääsoitto (‘Wedding Music’; 1968)

  1. Wedding Music
  2. Surusoitto (‘Funeral Music’; 1969)

  3. Funeral Music
  4. Requiem ‘in memoriam Maija Kokkonen’ (1980–81)*

  5. Requiem: I Requiem aeternam
  6. Requiem: II Kyrie eleison
  7. Requiem: III Tractus
  8. Requiem: IV Domine Iesu Christe
  9. Requiem: V Hostias et preces
  10. Requiem: VI Sanctus et Benedictus
  11. Requiem: VII Agnus Dei
  12. Requiem: VIII In paradisum
  13. Requiem: IX Lux aeterna
  14. Lux aeterna (1974)

  15. Lux aeterna
  16. Iuxta crucem (1979)

  17. Luxta crucem

*First Recording in this Version

1 review for Joonas Kokkonen: Requiem; Complete Works for Organ

  1. :

    ‘Listening to the current disc, I am won over by Kokkonen’s towering originality and impact, especially in the powerful performance of the Requiem.’

    —Young-Jin Hur, MusicWeb International

Add a review

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *