Axel Ruoff: Complete Works for Organ, Volume Three


Catalogue No: TOCC0610
EAN/UPC: 5060113446107
Release Date: 03.06.2022
Composer: Axel Ruoff
Artists: Annikka Konttori-Gustafsson, Darren Acosta, Jan Lehtola, Marko Ylönen, Olli-Pekka Tuomisalo, Petri Komulainen

The organ works of Axel Ruoff, born in Stuttgart in 1957, constitute one of the most important contributions to the literature for the instrument by any composer since Messiaen, with Ruoff often using its unparalleled resources to write music of extraordinary power and dramatic flair. This third volume in Jan Lehtola’s complete recording features the organ in the unusual role of duo partner in chamber music – but it is chamber music conceived on a symphonic scale. Here these five muscular duo works are separated by a series of weighty chorale preludes.

Annikka Konttori-Gustafsson, piano (Track 1)
Marko Ylönen, cello (Track 3)
Olli-Pekka Tuomisalo, saxophone (Track 5)
Petri Komulainen, horn (Tracks 9–11)
Jan Lehtola
organ of Sovituksenkirkko, Hollola, Finland (Track 1)
organ of St Michael’s Church, Turku (Tracks 2, 4, 6, 8–11)
organ of St Paul’s Church, Helsinki (Tracks 3, 5)

Listen To This Recording:

  1. Toccata for piano and organ (2014)
  2. Three Chorale Preludes (1999)

  3. No. 1, Aus tiefer Not
  4. Regionen for violoncello and organ (1994)

  5. Regionen for violoncello and organ
  6. Three Chorale Preludes (1999)

  7. No. 2, Du, o schönes Weltgebäude
  8. In inferioribus terrae for saxophone (2010)

  9. In inferioribus terrae for saxophone and organ
  10. Three Chorale Preludes (1999)

  11. No. 3, Alle Menschen müssen sterben
  12. Movere for trombone and organ (2017)

  13. Movere for trombone and organ
  14. Chorale Prelude O Jesu, du edle Gabe (2014)*
  15. I Allegro, molto marcato –
  16. Sonata for Horn and Organ (2015)

  17. II Tranquillo
  18. III Presto agitato



There are no reviews yet.

Only logged in customers who have purchased this product may leave a review.