Axel Ruoff: Complete Works for Organ, Volume Two

Discovery Club Members Save 30%!
Login or Join Today

Catalogue No: TOCC0596
EAN/UPC: 5060113445964
Release Date: 2021-06-04
Composer: Axel Ruoff
Artists: Jan Lehtola

The organ works of Axel Ruoff, born in Stuttgart in 1957, constitute one of the most important contributions to the literature for the instrument by any composer since Messiaen. Stylistically, his music unites the French cathedral tradition of composers like Langlais, Dupré and Guillou with the concern with counterpoint and logic heard in Reger and later German figures. Like Messiaen, Ruoff often finds stimulus in religious sources; unlike him, it is biblical narrative that inspires many of Ruoff’s works, and he uses the unparalleled resources of the modern symphonic organ in his responses to some of the most dramatic scenes in both Testaments, writing music of freewheeling energy and uncompromising power.

Jan Lehtola organ of St Michael’s Church, Turku, Finland

Listen To This Recording:

    Wie eine Maske dahinter die Nacht gähnt – Toccata I (1990)*

  1. Wie eine Maske dahinter die Nacht gähnt ‒ Toccata I
  2. Sieben biblische Szenen (2004)

  3. No. 1 Gethsemane
  4. No. 2 Tanz der Mirjam
  5. No. 3 Der schützende Engel
  6. No. 4 Die Taube pflückt den Ölzweig
  7. No. 5 Christus in Emmaus
  8. No. 6 Lobgesang im Paradies
  9. No. 7 Der Müde ‒ Tröstung
  10. Symphony No. 2 (2016)*

  11. I Phantasma
  12. II Déjà-vu
  13. III Erscheinung
  14. IV Anamorphosen
  15. Tiefstille (2015)*

  16. Tiefstille
  17. Erscheinung (2007)*

  18. Erscheinung
  19. Shirufa – Toccata III (2003)

  20. Shirufa ‒ Toccata III



There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Axel Ruoff: Complete Works for Organ, Volume Two”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *