Heinrich Sutermeister: Orchestral Works, Volume One

Discovery Club Members Save 30%!
Login or Join Today

Catalogue No: TOCC0420
EAN/UPC: 5060113444202
Release Date: 2019-05-01
Composer: Heinrich Sutermeister
Artists: Bruno Cathomas, Rainer Held, Royal Philharmonic

Heinrich Sutermeister (1910–95) belongs to the generation of Swiss composers after Bloch, Honegger, Martin and Schoeck. His operatic version of Romeo and Juliet soon spread his reputation far afield, and conductors as prominent as Böhm, Karajan and Sawallisch championed his works. Although his star has waned in the quarter-century since his death, the four orchestral works recorded here – ranging from the dramatic essay he drew from that first Shakespearean operatic success, via the easy-going charm of two lighter suites, to his deeply felt response to the Swiss landscape – bring a salutary reminder of why his music appeals so directly to its audiences.

Mit Deutschem Kommentar

Bruno Cathomas, speaker (8–13)
Royal Philharmonic Orchestra
Duncan Riddell, leader
Rainer Held, conductor

Listen To This Recording:

    Romeo and Juliet: Symphonic Suite for Large Orchestra (1940)

  1. Fanfares summon the Guests to a Feast at the Capulets: Presto vivace
  2. Music of the Feast: Più mosso
  3. Juliet dances with Paris: Andante con grazia
  4. Climax of the Masked Ball: Allegro molto
  5. Sarabande: Andante molto sostenuto
  6. Fairy Mab: Presto grazioso
  7. Finale: Adagio
  8. Die Alpen: Fantasy on Swiss Folksongs for Orchestra and Speaker (1946-48)

  9. I O du verklärte Welt von Bergen, Felsen, Seen
  10. II Dort senkt ein kahler Berg
  11. III Ein junger Schäfer stimmt indessen seine Leier
  12. IV Der Blumen zarten Schnee
  13. V Wenn durch die schwüle Luft
  14. VI Seht, hier, wo Gotthards Haupt die Wolken übersteiget
  15. Aubade pour Morges (1978-79)

  16. I Le château: Moderato festivo
  17. II Au parc: Andante espressivo
  18. III Les vendanges: Vivo
  19. IV Clair de lune sur le lac: Molto lento
  20. V Le port: Vivo
  21. Divertimento No. 2 (1959-60)

  22. I Mosso, grazioso
  23. II Adagio espressivo
  24. III Vivo con spirito
  25. IV Prestissimo



There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Heinrich Sutermeister: Orchestral Works, Volume One”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *