Heinrich Sutermeister: Orchestral Works, Volume Two


Catalogue No: TOCC0608
EAN/UPC: 5060113446084
Release Date: 06.01.2023
Composer: Heinrich Sutermeister
Artists: Benjamin Bruns, Deutsche Staatsphilharmonie Rheinland-Pfalz, Juliane Banse, Rainer Held

Heinrich Sutermeister (1910–95) belongs to the generation of Swiss composers after Bloch, Honegger, Martin and Schoeck. His operatic version of Romeo and Juliet soon spread his reputation far afield, and conductors as prominent as Böhm, Karajan and Sawallisch championed his works, although since his death his music has not had the attention it deserves. These four big-boned works – a powerful setting of Boethius, an extract from Romeo und Julia and two sets of moving love-letters from genuine historical figures in Renaissance, Baroque and Enlightenment Germany and Switzerland – attest to the acuity of his ear in balancing voice and large orchestra and confirm his instinct for drama.

Juliane Banse, soprano (1–9, 17–22)
Benjamin Bruns, tenor (10–16)
Deutsche Staatsphilharmonie Rheinland-Pfalz
Rainer Held, conductor

Listen To This Recording:

    Consolatio philosophiae. Dramatic Scene for High Voice and Orchestra (1977)

  1. I The Path of Truth
  2. II Temptations
  3. III Violence
  4. IV Love
  5. V Glory
  6. VI The Madness of Time
  7. VII The Consolation of Philosophy
  8. VIII Prayer
  9. Romeo and Julia (1940)

  10. ‘Ich reise weit’ for soprano and string orchestra
  11. Sieben Liebesbriefe for tenor and orchestra (1935)

  12. I Der Leidenschaftliche
  13. II Der Naturphilosoph
  14. III Der Liebeswahnsinnige
  15. IV Der Bürger als Brautigam
  16. V Der Bürger als Ehemann
  17. VI Liebe und Tod
  18. VII Der Kavalier
  19. Sechs Liebesbriefe for soprano and orchestra (1979)

  20. I Die Verlobung
  21. II Die Hochzeit
  22. III Der Tod
  23. IV Die Trennung
  24. V Capriccio
  25. VI Cherubino a cavallo



There are no reviews yet.

Only logged in customers who have purchased this product may leave a review.