Robert Fürstenthal: Complete Choral Music, Volume One

Discovery Club Members Save 30%!
Login or Join Today

Catalogue No: TOCC0648
EAN/UPC: 5060113446480
Release Date: 2022-08-05
Composer: Robert Fürstenthal
Artists: Borealis, Emma Roberts, Felix Kemp, Ian Buckle, Philippa Hyde, Richard Casey, Rory Carver, Skipton Camerata, Stephen Muir

Like many Austrian Jews, Robert Fürstenthal (1920–2016) fled to the USA after the German invasion of his country in 1938. Music then became a link to his homeland: ‘When I compose, I am back in Vienna’. As an amateur composer, Fürstenthal preferred to work on a small scale, and his output of songs and chamber music is considerable. But he also wrote two sizable works for chamber choir, the first of which, in this series of two albums, is bookended by piano sonatas – all three works revealing that the tradition of Schubert and Brahms was alive in the California sun.

Ian Buckle, piano (Tracks 1–4, 16)
Richard Casey, piano (Tracks 5–10, 12–16)
Philippa Hyde, soprano (Tracks 6, 8, 12, 14)
Emma Roberts, contralto (Tracks 6, 7. 9, 12–15)
Rory Carver, tenor (Tracks 5–7, 10, 12, 14, 15)
Felix Kemp, bass (Tracks 5–7, 14)
Borealis (Tracks 5, 6, 8, 10, 13–15)
Skipton Camerata (Tracks 5–8, 10–15)
Stephen Muir, conductor (Tracks 5–15)

Listen To This Recording:

    Piano Sonata in F major, Op. 54

  1. I Grave – Allegro con spirito
  2. II Allegro assai
  3. III Adagio
  4. IV Vivace
  5. Der Sonnengesang des Heiligen Franz von Assisi, Op. 29

  6. I Altissimu onnipotente: Tranquillo – Maestoso
  7. II Tucte le tue creature: Tucte le tue creature: Semplice – Dolce
  8. III Sora luna – Bruder Mond: Cantabile
  9. IV Frate ventu: Giocoso – Con moto
  10. V Sor aqua: Grazioso – Animato
  11. VI Frate focu: Agitato – Grave
  12. Intermezzo: Andante
  13. VII Matre terra: Amabile – Gioioso
  14. VIII Quilli ke perdonano: Piacevolo – Con forza
  15. IX Morte corporale: Quasi una marcia funebre –Lento, con molta espressione – Con forza
  16. X Laudate e benedicte: Summa di sapienza – Allegretto
  17. Sonata for Piano, Four Hands, Op. 58 (2009)

  18. Allegretto moderato



There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Robert Fürstenthal: Complete Choral Music, Volume One”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *