Robert FÜRSTENTHAL: Chamber Music, Volume Two

Discovery Club Members Save 30%!
Login or Join Today

Catalogue No: TOCC0542
EAN/UPC: 5060113445421
Release Date: 2020-04-03
Composer: Robert Fürstenthal
Artists: The Rossetti Ensemble

When Germany invaded Austria in 1938, Robert Fürstenthal, born in 1920, took the path of many Viennese Jews and fled to the United States, where he made his living as an accountant; the fact that he had written music in his youth was soon forgotten. Reconnection, after 35 years, with the woman who had been his first love rekindled both that flame and his urge to compose, and from then on songs and chamber music flowed from his pen, preserving the spirit of fin de siècle Vienna under the Californian sun – ‘When I compose, I am back in Vienna’, he explained. He died in November 2016, aged 96, knowing that his lyrical, eloquent music was at last attracting the attention of both musicians and microphones.

The Rossetti Ensemble
Kathryn Thomas, flute
Sarah-Jane Bradley, viola
Malcolm Messiter, oboe
Timothy Lowe, cello
John Lenehan, piano
Sara Trickey, violin


Listen To This Recording:

    Notturno in D flat major for piano trio, Op. 51

  1. Lento
  2. Flute Sonata in G minor, Op. 47

  3. I Allegro con spirito
  4. II Intermezzo: Comodo
  5. III Lento
  6. IV Allegretto un poco marcato
  7. Violin Sonata in G minor, Op. 46

  8. I Lento – Allegro moderato
  9. II Scherzando
  10. III Adagio
  11. IV Lento – Allegro assai
  12. Oboe Sonata in E flat major, Op. 63

  13. I Allegro con brio
  14. II Lento
  15. III Scherzando
  16. IV Grave – Allegro moderato
  17. Viola Sonata in B minor, Op. 60a

  18. I Allegro con brio
  19. II Adagio misterioso
  20. III Scherzando – Dolce
  21. IV Grave
  22. Notturno in D major for piano trio, Op. 19

  23. Cantabile


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Robert FÜRSTENTHAL: Chamber Music, Volume Two”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *