Ottorino RESPIGHI: Complete Piano Music, Volume One


Catalogue No: TOCC0405
EAN/UPC: 5060113444059
Release Date: 01.08.2019
Composer: Ottorino Respighi
Artists: Giovanna Gatto

Respighi’s orchestral works are some of the most popular in the mainstream repertoire. His output of piano music, by contrast, is as good as unknown, and this new Toccata Classics series will be the first ever to present it all: original works and transcriptions alike, for solo piano, piano four hands and two pianos. This first instalment crowns his earliest keyboard compositions with the magisterial Three Preludes on Gregorian Melodies, miniature Lisztian tone-poems presented with Busonian grandeur.

Giovanna Gatto, piano

Listen To This Recording:

    Sonata in F minor, p016 (1897–98)

  1. I Allegro
  2. II Lento
  3. III Allegretto
  4. Preludio in B flat minor, p043 (1903)

  5. Lento
  6. Preludio in D minor, p043a (1903)

  7. Lento e Presto
  8. Toccata in D Dorian, P105b (1916)*
  9. Andante in F major, P006 (1896)
  10. Andante in E major, P006a (1896; compl. Giovanna Gatto)*
  11. Andante in D major, P007 (1896)
  12. Tre preludi sopra melodie gregoriane, p131 (1921)

  13. No. 1, Molto lento
  14. No. 2, Tempestoso
  15. No. 3, Lento



There are no reviews yet.

Only logged in customers who have purchased this product may leave a review.