Moritz Moszkowski: Complete Music for Solo Piano, Volume One

Catalogue No: TOCC0572
EAN/UPC: 5060113445728
Release Date: 2021-05-07
Composer: Moritz Moszkowski
Artists: Ian Hobson

Moritz Moszkowski (1854–1925) wrote a considerable quantity of piano music, but it is generally remembered today only for a single piece, ‘Étincelles’, which Horowitz enjoyed playing. The early works on this first instalment in Ian Hobson’s survey of Moszkowski’s complete music for solo piano reveal a debt to Mendelssohn and Schumann, but the craftsmanship already justifies a later remark of Paderewski’s: ‘After Chopin, Moszkowski best understands how to write for the piano, and his writing embraces the whole gamut of piano technique’.

Ian Hobson, piano


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Moritz Moszkowski: Complete Music for Solo Piano, Volume One”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *