Heinrich Wilhelm Ernst: Complete Music for Violin and Piano, Volume Two

Catalogue No: TOCC0138
EAN/UPC: 5060113441386
Release Date: 2011-10-24
Composer: Heinrich Wilhelm Ernst
Artists: Ian Hobson, Sherban Lupu

Heinrich Wilhelm Ernst (1812-65) was one of the leading musicians of his day, a friend of Berlioz, Chopin, Liszt and Mendelssohn, and for Joseph Joachim 'the greatest violinist I ever heard'. But the popular encore pieces by which Ernst is remembered today represent only a fraction of his output. This second CD — in a series of six presenting his complete violin works for the first time — combines brilliant display and expressive melody: the Otello Fantasy and Rossini Variations show Ernst developing Paganini's inheritance, and the Boléro, Two Romances and Pensées fugitives show why he was such a favourite in Parisian salons.

Sherban Lupu, violin
Ian Hobson, piano

Listen To This Recording:

    Fantaisie brillante sur la Marche et la Romance d’Otello de Rossini, Op 11 (1837–38)

  1. Introduzione: Andante non troppo
  2. March: Allegro moderato
  3. Variation I
  4. Variation II
  5. Romance: Andante
  6. Variation III: Moderato
  7. Tempo dell’ introduzione
  8. Finale: Più mosso
  9. Boléro, Op. 16 (1842): Allegretto
  10. Deux Romances, Op. 15 (c. 1841)

  11. No. 1 Allegretto molto cantabile
  12. No. 2 Agitato ma non allegro
  13. Souvenir du Pré aux Clercs: Grand Duo pour Piano et Violon (1834)

  14. Introduzione: Andante
  15. Tèma: Lento
  16. Variation I: Ritenuto
  17. Variation II
  18. Variation III
  19. Cadenza
  20. Andante
  21. Finale
  22. Pensées fugitives, par Heller et Ernst, Part I: Nos. 1–6 (c. 1839)

  23. No. 1, PassÈ: Poco agitato
  24. No. 2, Souvenir: Allegretto con molto calore
  25. No. 3, Romance: Allegretto con moto
  26. No. 4, Lied: Allegretto con moto
  27. No. 5, Agitato: Molto Vivace
  28. No. 6, Abschied: Con moto
  29. Variations brillantes sur un thème de Rossini, Op. 4 (c. 1829–30)

  30. Introduzione: Andante
  31. Tèma
  32. Variation I
  33. Variation II
  34. Variation III
  35. Variation IV: Andante assai
  36. Variation V: Più mosso, con molto fuoco

2 reviews for Heinrich Wilhelm Ernst: Complete Music for Violin and Piano, Volume Two

  1. :

    ‘I reviewed the first volume in this comprehensive, pioneering series with great pleasure and feel the same way about the second release. As before, the fully idiomatic and nerveless duo of Sherban Lupu and Ian Hobson take the honours — for expressive variety, technical excellence and ensemble assurance. […]

    Top notch recording quality and an outstanding booklet note complete this exemplary offering.’

    —Jonathan Woolf, MusicWeb International

  2. :

    ‘[….] composer, and musical personality Heinrich Wilhelm Ernst continues in the footsteps of the first: exceptional notes by Mark Rowe, whose biography of the composer Ashgate, Aldershot published in 2008; and, most important, stunning performances of works both familiar and unfamiliar by violinist Sherban Lupu and pianist Ian Hobson […] the second should find its way into the collections of every lover of the violin and its literature as well as of those with even a passing interest in the years during which Ernst flourished. In fact, urgently recommended across the board.’ 

    —Robert Maxham, Fanfare Magazine May 2012

Add a review

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *