Maurice Ravel: Piano Music

Almost every pianist, it seems, wants to record Ravel, but virtually all of them have overlooked a treasure trove of his solo-piano music: the composer’s short score for Daphnis et Chloé. Some parts of it are unplayable by a single pair of hands, but with judicious arrangement this working draft can be mined for diamonds. Only a handful of musicians have made their own suites for solo piano; here the Lithuanian pianist Indrė Petrauskaitė, carefully observing Ravel’s original textures, has produced something new: a 40-minute concert suite of unsuspected Ravel for solo piano that also respects the dramatic outline of the original ballet. The other, more familiar works here extend the ideas of antiquity and transcription.

Indrė Petrauskaitė, piano


Catalogue No: TOCC0508
EAN/UPC: 5060113445087
Release Date: 01.08.2018
Composer: Maurice Ravel
Artists: Indrė Petrauskaitė

Listen To This Recording:

    Daphnis et Chloé (1909–12)
    Suite for Piano, arr. Indrė Petrauskaitė (2005–15)*

  1. I Danse religieuse
  2. II Danse générale
  3. III Danse grotesque de Dorcon
  4. IV Danse gracieuse et légère de Daphnis
  5. V Lyceion entre; Lyceion danse
  6. VI Modéré (Nocturne)
  7. VII Même mouvement (Interlude); Danse guerrière
  8. VIII Danse suppliante de Chloé
  9. IX Scène de Daphnis et Chloé
  10. Menuet antique (1895)

  11. Menuet antique
  12. Menuet sur le nom d’Haydn (1909)

  13. Menuet sur le nom d’Haydn
  14. Miroirs: No. 3, Une barque sur l’océan (1904–5)

  15. Miroirs: No. 3, Une barque sur l’ocean
  16. À la manière de … Alexander Borodine (1913)

  17. À la manière de … Alexander Borodine
  18. À la manière de … Emmanuel Chabrier: Paraphrase sur un air de Gounod (1913)

  19. À la manière de … Emmanuel Chabrier: Paraphrase sur un air de Gounod
  20. La valse (1919–20)

  21. La valse


1 review for Maurice Ravel: Piano Music

  1. :

    Fantastic new recording with Maurice Ravel music! Indrė Petrauskaitė performs the pieces intelligent and original. Her arrangements of orchestral music is very new playing that music piano solo. Congratulations to the pianist for her first recording!

Add a review

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

For security, use of Google's reCAPTCHA service is required which is subject to the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.

I agree to these terms.