Mykola Lysenko: Piano Music, Volume One

Mykola Lysenko: Piano Music

Mykola Lysenko (1842-1912) is regarded as 'the father of Ukrainian classical music'. As did Bartók later in Hungary, he went out into the field, listened to what the people were singing and fashioned an individual musical language that brought together the styles of Chopin and Liszt and the essence of Ukrainian folksong. This first CD of his piano music reveals a voice, long forgotten, of extraordinary immediacy and appeal.

Arthur Greene, piano

Select a Format:

Catalogue No: TOCC0287
EAN/UPC: 5060113442871
Release Date: 10.03.2015
Composer: Mykola Lysenko
Artists: Arthur Greene

Listen To This Recording:

  1. First Rhapsody on Ukrainian National Themes: Grand morceau de concert, Op. 8
  2. Chant treste, Op. posth.
  3. Album from the Summer of 1902, Op. 41: No. 1, ‘Langueur et l’attente’
  4. Album from the Summer of 1900, Op. 37: No. 2, ‘Chant d’amour’
  5. Reverie, ‘Visions of the Past’, Op. 13
  6. Le reve (‘Of Sweet Honey’), Op. 12
  7. Album from the Summer of 1901, Op. 39: No. 3, ‘Elegie: La tristesse’
  8. Album from the Summer of 1902, Op. 41: No. 3, ‘Elegie’
  9. Nocturne in C sharp minor, Op. 19
  10. Nocturne in B flat minor, Op. 9
  11. Nocturne in B flat major, Abschiedsnotturno
  12. Angoisse, Op. posth.
  13. Esquisse in the Dorian Mode, op. posth.
  14. Trois Esquisses, op. posth. No. 1, in A major
  15. Trois Esquisses, op. posth. No. 2, in B flat minor
  16. Trois Esquisses, op. posth. No. 3, in F minor

1 review for Mykola Lysenko: Piano Music, Volume One

  1. :

    “… Lysenko’s role in discovering, notating and using ethnic Ukrainian music go beyond what Liszt and Brahms did with Hungarian folk tunes and moves much closer to the kind of work Bartok would be noted for many years in the future. Still, Lysenko makes use of some of the stylistic traits in Liszt’s rhapsodies, especially the evocation of a cimbalom—a folk instrument common to both Hungary and Ukraine.
    Greene matches his superior pianism with a detailed booklet essay. Both the biographical information and the musical analysis complement the fascinating pieces here. It is hard not to refer to these compositions as Russian since the stylistic similarities with, say, Balakirev are obvious. The ghost of Chopin hovers over Lysenko’s Nocturnes. The big Rhapsody (1875) is the major work in Lysenko’s oeuvre and worthy to be included in any recital. This is real virtuoso stuff—again like Balakirev (parts of Islamey).
    The rest of this collection is made up of more modest pieces, and the technical requirements are more manageable. All are performances of great detail and finesse. …
    This release is Volume 1, so we can hope for more. All of the Toccata releases that have come my way uncover unknown piano treasures. They also keep finding excellent pianists like Greene, willing to immerse themselves in obscure repertoire and achieving masterly results. ” —American Record Guide, 08 September 2015

Add a review

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *