Arthur Hartmann: Miniatures and Transcriptions for Violin and Piano


Catalogue No: TOCC0089
EAN/UPC: 5060113440891
Release Date: 01.06.2009
Composer: Arthur Hartmann
Artists: Arthur Greene, Solomia Soroka

Arthur Hartmann (1881-1956) was a Philadelphia-born violinist and composer — though he claimed he came from Hungary — whose Kreisler-like salon miniatures for violin and piano were once the toast of violinists everywhere. He was also a close friend of Debussy, a number of whose piano pieces he transcribed, performing them in Paris with the composer. This first recording of Hartmann's charming pieces restores a forgotten but immediately attractive corner of the violin repertoire.

Solomia Soroka, violin
Arthur Greene, piano

Listen To This Recording:

    Miniatures for Violin and Piano (1905t27)

  1. L’Amour: Valse bluette
  2. A Negro Croon
  3. Autumn in Hungary: Romance
  4. Nyiregyh·zi EmlÈk: Csardas
  5. Szomor˙s·g (Tristesse): Rhapsodische Skizze
  6. Caprice
  7. Valse
  8. Danse Grotesque
  9. Kossuth Lajos
  10. Bogdan…
  11. Esprit de Ravioli Polah… (Souvenir d’une SoirÈe inoubliable)
  12. Prayer
  13. La Tzigane
  14. La Coquette: Valse Intermezzo
  15. Tauga: A Bulgarian Sketch
  16. A Cradle Song
  17. Transcriptions of Claude Debussy (c. 1908t10)

  18. Beau Soir
  19. La fille aux cheveux de lin
  20. Il pleure dans mon coeur
  21. Transcription of Edward MacDowell (pub. 1907): To a Wild Rose


There are no reviews yet.

Only logged in customers who have purchased this product may leave a review.