Thomas de Hartmann: Orchestral Music


Catalogue No: TOCC0633
EAN/UPC: 5060113446336
Release Date: 04.02.2022
Composer: Thomas de Hartmann
Artists: Bülent Evcil, Lviv National Philharmonic Orchestra of Ukraine, Theodore Kuchar

Born in Ukraine, Thomas de Hartmann (1885–1956), a student of both Arensky and Taneyev, achieved fame as a composer in Russia in the early 1900s, and his concert music was later played by some of the major musicians of the day, primarily in Paris. Since his death, he has been remembered mainly for his association with the Caucasian mystic G. I. Gurdjieff, whom he met in 1916, and his output for the concert hall has fallen into obscurity. The four works receiving their first recordings here reveal a major late-Romantic voice, downstream from Tchaikovsky, contemporary with Rachmaninov, and alert to the discoveries of Stravinsky and Prokofiev

Bülent Evcil, flute (Track 11-13)
Lviv National Philharmonic Orchestra of Ukraine
Theodore Kuchar, conductor

Listen To This Recording:

    Koliadky: Noëls Ukrainiens, Op. 60 (1940)

  1. I Chant spirituel
  2. II Viens, Koladá, viens
  3. III Les rois mages
  4. IV Les chalumeux des bergers
  5. V L’arrivée de Koladá
  6. VI Ovsén
  7. VII La veille de l’Épiphanie
  8. VIII Adieu, Koladá
  9. IX Goussak
  10. Symphonie-Poème No. 4, Op. 90 (1955)

  11. Symphonie-Poème No. 4, Op. 90
  12. Concierto Andaluz for solo flute, strings and percussion, Op. 81 (1949)

  13. I Entrada y Romanza
  14. II Juego: Scherzino
  15. III Cante y Juerga
  16. Une fête en Ukraine: Suite for Large Orchestra , Op. 62 (1940)

  17. I Ouverture
  18. II Fanfare
  19. III Allemande
  20. IV Courante
  21. V Fanfare et Sarabande
  22. VI Gavotte
  23. VII Matradour
  24. VIII Canari
  25. IX Incantation et danse du Chamane
  26. X Nocturne
  27. XI Danilo Coupor



There are no reviews yet.

Only logged in customers who have purchased this product may leave a review.