Sigfrid Karg-Elert: Music for Piano and Organ

Catalogue No: TOCC0419
EAN/UPC: 5060113444196
Release Date: 2017-06-01
Composer: Sigfrid Karg-Elert
Artists: Annikka Konttori-Gustafsson, Jan Lehtola

As the popularity of domestic music-making grew through the nineteenth century, it brought first the piano and, then, often the harmonium into well-off living-rooms across the western world. Composers naturally responded, with original works and arrangements: Sibelius’ Andante cantabile was written after a visit to relatives who had both instruments in their salon; Karg-Elert, by contrast, was one of the world’s outstanding virtuosi on both harmonium and organ and composed with his concert public in mind. This recording thus revives long-forgotten sonorities that once would have been very familiar.

Annikka Konttori-Gustafsson, piano
Jan Lehtola, organ

Listen To This Recording:

    Pelléas and Mélisande, Op. 46 (1905)*
    Music to Maurice Maeterlinck’s play,
    transcribed for harmonium and piano by Sigfrid Karg-Elert (1905)

  1. I At the Castle Gate
  2. II Melisande
  3. III A Spring in the Park
  4. IV The Three Blind Sisters
  5. V Pastorale
  6. VI Melisande at the Spinning Wheel
  7. VII Entr’acte
  8. VIII The Death of Melisande
  9. Karg-Elert
    Poesien, Op. 35 (1906–7)*

  10. I In memoriam
  11. II Dialog
  12. III Epigramm
  13. IV Parabel
  14. V Ideale
  15. Silhouetten, Op. 29 (1906)*

  16. I Cantilene
  17. II Aubade (Morgenstandchen)
  18. III Alte Tanzweise
  19. IV Berceuse Mignonne (Wiegenliedchen)
  20. V Quasi Minuetto
  21. VI Tempo di Ballo
  22. VII Scherzino
  23. Sibelius

  24. Andante cantabile, JS30b (1887)


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Sigfrid Karg-Elert: Music for Piano and Organ”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *