Harold Shapero: Piano Music

Catalogue No: TOCC0211
EAN/UPC: 5060113442116
Release Date: 02.06.2014
Composer: Harold Shapero
Artists: Evan Hirsch, Sally Pinkas

Harold Shapero (1920-2013) reacted against the dominance of modernism in American musical life in the mid-twentieth-century by using a Neoclassical language with its roots in Beethoven and Schubert, initially animated by Stravinsky. These three early piano works — two of them receiving their first-ever recordings — reveal Shapero's superb craftsmanship and his ready wit, in music which embraces the past instead of rejecting it.

Sally Pinkas, piano
Evan Hirsch and Sally Pinkas, piano duo

1 review for Harold Shapero: Piano Music

  1. :

    “… Both here [Sonata in F minor] and in the C minor Variations of 1947 (both first recordings), the idiom is rugged, the scale substantial and the initial effect powerful. Sally Pinkas’s admirable and close-miked performances are suitably robust. She is joined by Evan Hirsch for the Four-Hand Sonata, which recalls Copland and Poulenc.” International Piano

Add a review

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *