Jean-Philippe Rameau: The Complete Keyboard Music, Volume One

Discovery Club Members Save 30%!
Login or Join Today

Catalogue No: TOCC0050
EAN/UPC: 5060113440501
Release Date: 2007-09-03
Composer: Jean-Philippe Rameau
Artists: Stephen Gutman

Rameau was one of the great composers for the keyboard. But because pianists have not adopted his harpsichord music as they have that of the other great names of the Baroque – Bach, Handel and Scarlatti – his stature as a keyboard composer is not fully acknowledged. This series of three CDs presents all his keyboard music on the piano: the familiar suites, a number of discoveries and arrangements by his contemporaries.

Stephen Gutman, piano

Listen To This Recording:

    Suite No. 1 in A minor (1706)

  1. Prelude
  2. Allemande I
  3. Allemande II
  4. Courante
  5. Sarabandes I & II
  6. VÈnitienne
  7. Gavotte
  8. Menuet
  9. Gigue
  10. Suite No. 2 in E minor (1724)

  11. Allemande
  12. Courante
  13. Gigue en rondeau I
  14. Gigue en rondeau II
  15. Le rappel des oiseaux
  16. Rigaudons I & II
  17. Musette en rondeau
  18. La Villageoise
  19. Tambourin
  20. Pièces de clavecin en concerts: Concert No. 1 in C minor (1741)

  21. La Coulicam
  22. La Livri
  23. Le VÈzinet
  24. Pièces de clavecin en concerts: Concert No. 2 in G major (1741)

  25. La Laborde
  26. La Boucon
  27. L’AgaÁante
  28. Menuets I & II
  29. Pièces de clavecin en concerts: Concert No. 3 in A major (1741)

  30. La Lapoplinière
  31. La Timide I
  32. La Timide II
  33. Tambourin I & II
  34. Air des Paladins (1760) [transc. Balbastre]

5 reviews for Jean-Philippe Rameau: The Complete Keyboard Music, Volume One

  1. :

    ‘…these thoughtful (yet never calculated) performances are highly enjoyable, and make a good case for the piano as viable alternative medium for his music.’

    —Uri Golomb, Goldberg Early Music Magazine

  2. :

    ‘Gutman’s playing is sensitive, lightly articulated and cautious in its expressive range. …engaging for its ornamental delicacy and communicative lyricism. Among the highlights are the ‘Vénitienne’ from the A minor Suite and ‘Le rappel des oiseaux’ from that in E minor. In summary, a worthwhile venture and not just for its completeness. It complements Meyer’s more overtly pianistic approach, though in no sense topples it. I look forward to the remaining volumes.’

    —Nicholas Anderson, BBC Music Magazine

  3. :

    ‘Just to make sure that I had not over-compensated for my general dislike of harpsichord music on the piano, I listened to the CD all the way through twice more without changing my mind. I can’t pretend that this will always be my preferred recording of these works but I’m sure it won’t disappear into the limbo of forgotten recordings either. Those who actively prefer the piano in this repertoire may purchase with confidence. Harpsichord-lovers have my word that they will not be offended.’

    —Brian Wilson, MusicWeb International

  4. :

    ‘This interpretation isn’t just for people who like Glenn Gould’s Bach — it’s for those who like Bach filtered through Busoni and Horowitz.’

    —James Manheim, AllMusic

  5. :

    ‘Rameau on the piano is gaining fast. […]while the texture can still get congested on occasion, the overall feel is one of languid grace and charm. Gutman […] achieves satisfying clarity and attack in many of the faster dance movements and reacts well to Rameau’s strong harmonic sense, forcefully direct in places, deliciously clouded in others.’

    Gramophone, November 2007

Add a review

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *