Óscar da Silva: Piano Music, Volume One

Catalogue No: TOCC0576
EAN/UPC: 5060113445766
Release Date: 2020-11-06
Composer: Óscar da Silva
Artists: Luís Pipa

The Portuguese composer and pianist Óscar da Silva (1870–1958) was one of the major figures in Portuguese and Brazilian musical life in the first half of the twentieth century He left an extensive legacy of compositions for his instrument, cast in a soft and sultry Romanticism somewhere between Chopin and Rachmaninov. All four of the collections recorded here concentrate on delicacy of tone-colour, expressing a particularly Portuguese sense of human emotion.

Luís Pipa (piano)

Listen To This Recording:

    Images, Op. 6 (publ. 1895)

  1. I Indécision
  2. II Naïveté
  3. III Constance
  4. IV Découragement
  5. V Espérance
  6. VI Passion
  7. VII Coquetterie
  8. Embalos (‘Lullabies’; publ. 1948)*

  9. I Tempo di ‘Berceuse’
  10. II Tempo di ‘Berceuse’
  11. Românticas (publ. 1948)*

  12. I Romance
  13. II Nocturnal
  14. III Canção Triste
  15. Dolorosas (Musique Intime), Op. 11 (publ. 1911)

  16. I Lento serio
  17. II Andante malinconico (triste canzone)
  18. III Andante sostenuto
  19. IV Andante non molto (con dolore profondo)
  20. V Allegretto
  21. VI Quasi adagio
  22. VII Andante dolento
  23. VIII Lento funereo



There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Óscar da Silva: Piano Music, Volume One”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *