Philipp SCHARWENKA: Piano Music, Volume One

Catalogue No: TOCC0521
EAN/UPC: 5060113445216
Release Date: 2020-02-07
Composer: Philipp Scharwenka
Artists: Luís Pipa

As composer, pianist and educationalist, the Prussian Philipp Scharwenka (1847–1917) was one of the most highly respected musicians of his day, although his star faded soon after his death. His music – more conservative and classical in orientation than that of his pianist-composer brother, Xaver – sits somewhere between Chopin and Brahms, with echoes of Schubert and Schumann. This first instalment of a survey of his piano music is intended to put these immediately attractive works before the public once again – for the first time in over a century.

Luís Pipa, piano

Listen To This Recording:

    Romantische Episoden, Op. 65 (publ. 1887)

  1. No. 1 Feurig bewegt
  2. No. 2 Langsam, nicht schleppend
  3. No. 3 Langsam, ausdrucksvoll
  4. No. 4 Kräftig und feurig
  5. No. 5 Einfach, ruhig
  6. 6 Tonbilder in kleinen Rahmen, Op. 69 (publ. 1887)

  7. No. 1 Frühlingsbotschaft
  8. No. 2 Stimmungsbild
  9. No. 3 Widmung
  10. No. 4 Polnisch
  11. No. 5 Pastorale
  12. No. 6 Scherzino
  13. Für die Jügend, Op. 71 (publ. 1887)

  14. I Andantino elegiaco
  15. II Allegretto grazioso
  16. III Moderato
  17. IV Lento espressivo
  18. V Allegretto con spirito
  19. VI Moderato con espressione

First Recordings


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Philipp SCHARWENKA: Piano Music, Volume One”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *