Paul Juon: Chamber Music for Viola


Catalogue No: TOCC0389
EAN/UPC: 5060113443892
Release Date: 03.06.2022
Composer: Paul Juon
Artists: Basil Vendryes, Igor Pikayzen, William David

Paul Juon was born in Moscow, of Swiss parents, in 1872, studying there with Arensky and Taneyev; Rachmaninov, a fellow student at the Moscow Conservatoire, dubbed him ‘the Russian Brahms’. Woldemar Bargiel, Clara Schumann’s half-brother, was his main teacher at the Hochschule für Musik in Berlin before Juon himself became a member of the staff. There are indeed echoes of Brahms in Juon’s early music but there is also a fondness for Russian folksong and a mastery of counterpoint, which all feed into his urgent, late-Romantic lyricism.

Basil Vendryes, viola
Igor Pikayzen, violin (Tracks 8–18)
William David, piano

Listen To This Recording:

    Sonata for Viola and Piano in D major, Op. 15 (publ. 1901)

  1. I Moderato
  2. II Adagio assai e molto cantabile
  3. III Allegro moderato
  4. Sonata for Viola and Piano in F minor, Op. 82a (publ. 1924)

  5. Moderato assai –
  6. Adagio –
  7. Tempo primo
  8. Romanze for Viola and Piano, Op. 7b (1898)

  9. Romanze, Op. 7b, for Viola and Piano, Op. 7b
  10. Silhouettes, 2ème série, Op. 43, for violin, viola and piano (publ. 1909)*

  11. No. 1 Prélude
  12. No. 2 Chant d’amour
  13. No. 3a Intermezzo 1
  14. No. 3b Intermezzo 2
  15. No. 3c Intermezzo 3
  16. No. 4 Mélancholie
  17. No. 5 Danse grotesque
  18. Trio-Miniaturen for violin, viola and piano (publ. 1920)

  19. No. 1 Rêverie: Molto adagio
  20. No. 2 Humoreske: Allegro ma non troppo
  21. No. 3 Elegie: Andante cantabile
  22. No. 4 Danse fantastique: Quasi valse lente


There are no reviews yet.

Only logged in customers who have purchased this product may leave a review.