A Century of American Viola Sonatas

Catalogue No: TOCN0026
EAN/UPC: 5060640070264
Release Date: 2024-01-19
Composer: David Tcimpidis, Eric Ewazen, Libby Larsen, Ulysses Kay
Artists: Basil Vendryes, William David

These five works – four sonatas and a sonatina – chronicle a century of American writing for the viola and are linked by a concern for directness of musical language. But they also reflect diversity in their origins and inspirations, the Ulysses Kay pieces being written by a pioneering African American, Libby Larsen’s by a successful female freelance composer, Eric Ewazen’s animated by a particularly American lyricism and energy, and the sonata by David Tcimpidis commemorating the ‘9/11’ terrorist attack on the World Trade Center, which Tcimpidis heard unfolding.

Basil Vendryes, viola
William David, piano


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “A Century of American Viola Sonatas”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *