Reinhard Oppel: Piano Music, Volume One

Catalogue No: TOCC0003
EAN/UPC: 5060113440037
Release Date: 2011-06-13
Composer: Reinhard Oppel
Artists: Heejung Kang

Reinhard Oppel (1878–1941) was a major figure in inter-War Germany, as composer, teacher and theoretician. His rich, late-Romantic music encompasses symphonies, chamber and choral music, songs and works for piano. His music went underground in East Germany – literally: after World War II, when his family fled west from the occupying Russian army, they hid his music under the garden shed and there it remained, unknown, until the fall of Communism, when his son was able to return and retrieve it. This first CD of his heart-warming, Dvořákian piano music begins a series of releases intended to win Oppel’s music the audience it deserves.

Heejung Kang, piano

Listen To This Recording:

    Kleine Suite, Op. 26

  1. No. 1, Präludium – Andante, quasi Allegretto
  2. No. 2, Presto
  3. No. 3, Allegretto grazioso
  4. No. 4, Grave. Sehr ruhig
  5. No. 5, Finale – Allegro molto, quasi Presto
  6. Piano Sonata No. 1 in G minor

  7. I. Allegro, ma non troppo
  8. II. Adagio
  9. III. Allegro
  10. IV. Presto
  11. Fünf Stücke, Op. 21

  12. No. 1, Allegro
  13. No. 2, Andante
  14. No. 3, Allegro, ma non troppo
  15. No. 4, Allegro moderato pesante
  16. No. 5, Tanzmässig, ja nicht zu schnell
  17. Waltzes, Set II

  18. Waltz I
  19. Waltz II
  20. Waltz III: Etwas schneller

1 review for Reinhard Oppel: Piano Music, Volume One

  1. :

    ‘…His fourth and surviving wife buried his music beneath the floor of their garden house before fleeing the Russian occupying army. …Oppel’s son returned to the house and dug up the trunk in which the scores had been kept. This recording, then, is the fruit of that labour, music that has, literally, been buried and has now been returned to the light in performances that sound to me – these are première recordings – wholly sympathetic to Oppel’s style. ..There aren’t obvious signposts as to influence, though I would say that he shows signs of having absorbed late Romanticism – Brahms especially – and also something of Reger. …The Five Pieces, Op.21 of 1913 offer a good contrast between drama and introspection whilst the drifting harmonies of the central piece, and its powerful chording, add depth still further. …There are excellent notes, and the performances, as noted, are warm, technically adroit and deftly pointed, and the recording matches Heejung Kang’s playing.’

    —Jonathan Woolf, MusicWeb International

Add a review

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *