José Comellas: Piano Music

José Comellas: Piano Music

Cuba’s heritage of classical music is composed largely of three strands: the inheritance of colonial times and the subsequent influence of African and European musicians. But even after three hundred years of development, most Cuban composers remain unknown to international audiences. This first recording in a series intended to uncover some of those lost voices presents piano pieces by José Comellas (1842–88), of Catalan descent. Most of them are salon works that blend Chopin and Gottschalk, but Comellas’ ambitions also went further, with the first sonata published by any Cuban composer.

José Raúl López, piano

Select a Format:

Catalogue No: TOCC0347
EAN/UPC: 5060113443472
Release Date: 01.10.2016
Composer: José Comellas
Artists: José Raúl López

Listen To This Recording:

  1. Souvenir: Song without Words, Op. 1 (publ. 1874)
  2. Vienne: Grande Valse pour le Piano, Op. 4 (publ. 1874)
  3. Far Away: Nocturne, Op. 12 (publ. 1874)
  4. The Five Roses: Mazurka, Op. 26 (publ. 1885)
  5. Washington et Lincoln: Elégie sur la tombe de ces deux Héros, Op. 3 (publ. 1867)
  6. Natalie: Mazurka, Op. 10 (1874)
  7. Le Retour: Nocturne, Op. 25 (publ. 1885)
  8. Sonate Brillante, Op. 21 (publ. 1876)

  9. I Allegro risoluto
  10. II Andante
  11. III Allegro vivo
  12. Nocturne, Op. 24 (publ. 1885)
  13. Christmas Toys: Little Polka (1885)

First Recordings


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “José Comellas: Piano Music”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *