Heinrich Wilhelm Ernst: Complete Works, Volume Six

Heinrich Wilhelm Ernst (1812–65) was one of the leading musicians of his day, a friend
of Berlioz, Chopin, Liszt and Mendelssohn, and for Joseph Joachim ‘the greatest violinist I ever heard’. This sixth album – in a series of seven presenting all his compositions for the first time – begins and ends with some of the most difficult music for solo violin ever composed: Ernst’s Six Polyphonic Studies and his transcription of Schubert’s song, Der Erlkönig. Between them comes less familiar fare: five Schubertian piano pieces, and two settings of Goethe.

Sherban Lupu, violin Tracks 1-12, 20
Yvonne Redman, soprano Tracks 18-19
Ian Hobson, piano Tracks 13-19

This item will be released on 1 July 2019.

Catalogue No: TOCC0311
EAN/UPC: 5060113443113
Release Date: 01.07.2019
Composer: Heinrich Wilhelm Ernst
Artists: Ian Hobson, Sherban Lupu, Yvonne Redman

Listen To This Recording:

    Études pour le Violon à plusieurs parties (Sechs mehrstimmige Studien für Violine. Gruss an Freunde und Kunstbrüder) (1864)

  1. Étude I
  2. Étude II
  3. Étude III
  4. Étude IV
  5. Étude V
  6. Étude VI Einleitung
  7. Étude VI: Thema
  8. Étude VI Variation I
  9. Étude VI Variation II
  10. Étude VI Variation III
  11. Étude VI Variation IV
  12. Étude VI Finale
  13. Trois Valses non dansantes pour le Piano-forte (c. 1838)

  14. No. 1 in A major*
  15. No. 2 in A flat minor*
  16. No. 3 in D flat major
  17. Romanze: An Madam Clara Schuman (1842)*
  18. Nocturne Posthume in A flat major (1864)*
  19. Two Goethe Settings*

  20. Lebet Wohl (before 1843)
  21. Der Fischer (c. 1830)
  22. Grand Caprice. Solo pour Violon sur Le Roi des Aulnes de F. Schubert, Op. 26 (1842)



There are no reviews yet.

Only logged in customers who have purchased this product may leave a review.