Heino Eller: Complete Piano Music, Volume Six

Catalogue No: TOCC0475
EAN/UPC: 5060113444752
Release Date: 2018-06-01
Composer: Heino Eller
Artists: Sten Lassmann

The piano music of the Estonian composer Heino Eller (1887–1970), a total of 206 works, is not only the largest part of his output: it is also the largest body of works in Estonian classical music. But most of these pieces are unknown, even though the best of them are original contributions to the piano repertoire of the twentieth century, with Eller’s sensitive lyricism underpinned by gentle humour and an occasional epic tone. Volume Six in this series of nine recordings brings over a half-century of music, from 1910 to 1965, including the melodious Sonatina in G minor, the spirited Piano Music in Folk Tone and the exquisite La fille du nord.

Sten Lassmann, piano

Listen To This Recording:

    Sonatina in G minor (1946)**

  1. I Allegretto moderato
  2. II Sostenuto quasi andante
  3. III Allegro vivo
  4. Ballade in B flat minor (1910)*

  5. Ballade
  6. Fantasie in F minor (c. 1910)*

  7. Fantasie
  8. Étude in F minor (1916)*

  9. Étude
  10. Impromptu in B flat minor (1915?)*

  11. Impromptu
  12. Valse in B flat minor (1915)*

  13. Valse
  14. Klaverimuusika rahvatoonis (’Piano Music in Folk Tone’; 1965)**

  15. No. 1 Allegretto grazioso
  16. No. 2 Andantino
  17. No. 3 Scherzino, Vivo
  18. No. 4 Moderato
  19. No. 5 Lento
  20. No. 7 Vivace
  21. No. 8 Allegro moderato
  22. No. 9 Allegretto piacevole
  23. No. 11 Andante con moto
  24. No. 12 Moderato – poco allegro
  25. No. 13 Sostenuto espressivo
  26. No. 14 Allegro capriccioso
  27. Muusikaline hetk in F sharp minor (‘Musical Moment’; 1915)**

  28. Muusikaline hetk
  29. Scherzino in B minor (1935)**

  30. Scherzino
  31. Caprice in B minor (1919–24)*

  32. Caprice
  33. Karjase laul (‘Herdsman’s Song’; 1917)*

  34. Karjase laul
  35. La fille du nord (1919)*

  36. La fille du nord

1 review for Heino Eller: Complete Piano Music, Volume Six

  1. :

    ‘First and foremost, Eller’s music here is eminently listenable, with a real variety of style and idiom guaranteed to hold the listener’s attention for all of the CD’s 64 minutes or so. […] Estonian pianist Sten Lassmann’s superb, and totally empathetic playing is again as convincing in performance […] enhanced, of course, by the excellence of the recording itself.’

    —Philip R Buttall, MusicWeb International

Add a review

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *