Théodore Gouvy: Sérénades for Flute and Strings

Catalogue No: TOCC0185
EAN/UPC: 5060113441850
Release Date: 2013-06-03
Composer: Théodore Gouvy
Artists: Ilka Emmert, Kreisler Quartet, Markus Brönnimann, Michael Kleiser

The rediscovery of the three Sérénades for flute and strings by the Franco-German Romantic Théodore Gouvy (1819-98) — two of them commissioned by the Philharmonic Club of New York — brings a welcome expansion to the repertoire of nineteenth-century chamber music for flute. Gouvy's charming melodic language disguises the expert craftsmanship of a composer who, not belonging to any national school, has not had the attention his warm-hearted music deserves.

Markus Brönnimann, flute
Kreisler Quartet, string quartet
Ilka Emmert, double-bass
Michael Kleiser, piano

Listen To This Recording:

  1. Sérénade No. 3 in D minor, op. posth. (1891): Adagio – Allegro moderato
  2. Sérénade No. 2 in F major, Op. 84 (1889)

  3. I Tema con variazioni. Andante maestoso
  4. II Scherzo. Allegro vivace
  5. III Lamento. Andante patetico
  6. IV Rondo giocoso. Allegro
  7. Sérénade No. 1 in G major, Op. 82 (1888)

  8. I Pastorale. Moderato
  9. II Intermezzo. Allegretto grazioso
  10. III Larghetto. Lento non troppo
  11. IV Rondo. Alla breve
  12. Introduction et Polonaise for flute and piano (1890)
  13. Danse suédoise for flute and piano (1879)

5 reviews for Théodore Gouvy: Sérénades for Flute and Strings

  1. :

    ‘…Gouvy was a significant composer of the Romantic era who wrote music of considerable substance…The instrumentalists … are uniformly excellent and play these works with all the charm and gracefulness one could ask for. The recorded sound is ideal, with just the right perspective and balance and an inviting degree of warmth, and as previously mentioned the program notes are outstanding. …lovers of Gouvy or of chamber music for flute should find this disc quite appealing, and it is recommended accordingly.’

    —James A. Altena, Fanfare Magazine

  2. :

    ‘…Unfailingly sunny and beautiful, the program provides an hour of delightful music. Anyone drawn to chamber music with flute will thoroughly enjoy this.’

    —Paul Ballyk, Expedition Audio

  3. :

    ‘…Brönnimann’s playing, beautiful throughout the program, can most readily be enjoyed in the F major Sérénade. His first, low-range entry is firm in a register that’s customarily weak, and his timbre is round, almost velvety. As the line ascends, the tone gains in clarity without turning aggressive. He’s not a flashy player, though he certainly has dexterity to spare where the music wants it; rather, it’s the poise and patience with which he spins out the passagework that lingers in the mind. The Kreisler Quartet members, joined by bassist Ilka Emmert, play sensitively and with alert rhythmic address. Michael Kleiser’s pianism is solid, with layered textures.’

    —Stephen Francis Vasta, MusicWeb International

  4. :

    What an excellent program for a CD!

  5. :

    ‘Beautiful performances of Théodore Gouvy’s charmingly romantic chamber music.’

    —Pizzicato Team, Pizzicato Magazine September 2013

Add a review

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *