Gerald Hendrie: Complete Organ Music, Volume One


Catalogue No: TOCC0684
EAN/UPC: 5060113446848
Release Date: 07.04.2023
Composer: Gerald Hendrie
Artists: Tom Winpenny

The organ music of Gerald Hendrie – born in England in 1935 but resident in France since 1996 – encompasses a huge range of influences, among them the organist-composers who went before him (not least Franck, Dupré and Messiaen), dodecaphony, mediaeval plainchant and modality and jazz. The resulting works are as varied as the styles that fed into them, from grandiose to gentle, from severe to whimsical, from lyrical to lively.

Tom Winpenny

Listen To This Recording:

    Le Tombeau de Marcel Dupré (1990-92)

  1. I Toccata and Fugue: Toccata*
  2. I Toccata and Fugue: Fugue
  3. II Prelude and Fugue: Prelude
  4. II Prelude and Fugue: Fugue
  5. III Prelude and Fugue on BACH: Prelude
  6. III Prelude and Fugue on BACH: Fugue
  7. IV and V Two Sketches on the name BACH: Sketch No. 1 Vivace
  8. IV and V Two Sketches on the name BACH: Sketch No. 2 Deciso
  9. Sicilienne (2022)
  10. Choral: Hommage à César Franck (1990)
  11. Specula Petro (1968)
  12. Sonata: In Praise of St Asaph/Mawl i Asaff Sant (1994)

  13. I Introduction
  14. II Fugue
  15. III Interlude
  16. IV Finale



There are no reviews yet.

Only logged in customers who have purchased this product may leave a review.