Friedrich Gernsheim: Piano Music Volume Two

Catalogue No: TOCC0594
EAN/UPC: 5060113445940
Release Date: 2021-02-05
Composer: Friedrich Gernsheim
Artists: Jens Barnieck

Friedrich Gernsheim (1839–1916), born in Worms, on the Rhine, grew up to be one of the most formidable musicians of his age: composer, pianist, conductor and teacher. Even as a teenager, Gernsheim was attracting attention as a virtuoso-composer, earning comparisons with Mozart. The works here document the emergence of his own musical personality, from an early sonata, which has a Mozartian opening and a Beethovenian slow movement, via a dalliance with Schumann, until he reaches a mature style comparable to Brahms in its emotional range and depth.

Jens Barnieck, piano

Listen To This Recording:

    Piano Sonata No. 1 in D minor (1853)

  1. I Allegro agitato
  2. II Adagio
  3. III Finale: Allegro assai
  4. Romanze in F sharp major, Op. 15 (publ. 1869)

  5. Adagio – Vivace ed agitato – Adagio
  6. Capriccio in E minor (publ. 1883)

  7. Vivace e con brio
  8. Vier Klavierstücke, Op. 61 (1895)

  9. No. 1 Idyll: Lento e sostenuto
  10. No. 2 Capriccio: Allegro agitato
  11. No. 3 Legende: Andante molto espressivo
  12. No. 4 Impromptu: Allegretto grazioso e giocoso
  13. Fantasie in G minor, Op. 27 (publ. 1872)

  14. Fantasie in G minor, Op. 27
  15. Geschwind-Marsch in C major (1845 or 1846)

  16. Geschwind-Marsch in C major



There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Friedrich Gernsheim: Piano Music Volume Two”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *