Friedrich Gernsheim: Piano Music, Volume One

Friedrich Gernsheim (1839–1916), born in Worms, on the Rhine, grew up to be one of the most formidable musicians of his age: composer, pianist, conductor and teacher. Even as a teenager, Gernsheim was attracting attention as a virtuoso-composer, earning comparisons with Mozart. These two early piano sonatas – restored by Jens Barnieck from Gernsheim’s manuscripts – combine youthful freshness with praeternatural assuredness, showing awareness of Schumann and anticipating Brahms. By the time of the Six Preludes, written a decade later, Chopin has become the dominant star in Gernsheim’s firmament.

Jens Barnieck

This item will be released on 1 June 2019.

Catalogue No: TOCC0206
EAN/UPC: 5060113442062
Release Date: 01.06.2019
Artists: Jens Barnieck


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Friedrich Gernsheim: Piano Music, Volume One”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

For security, use of Google's reCAPTCHA service is required which is subject to the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.

I agree to these terms.