Friedrich Gernsheim: The Two Piano Quintets

The music of the German composer Friedrich Gernsheim (1839-1918) is gradually beginning to emerge in recordings, revealing him as one of the finest composers of his age. His two piano quintets are tightly constructed, powerfully argued and full of rhythmic energy, and also abound with memorable tunes. They are, in fact, both masterpieces, among the very best of German Romantic chamber music, ranking alongside the Brahms and Schumann works.

Art Vio String Quartet
Edouard Oganessian, piano


Catalogue No: TOCC0099
EAN/UPC: 5060113440990
Release Date: 22.02.2010
Composer: Friedrich Gernsheim
Artists: Art Vio String Quartet, Edouard Oganessian

1 review for Friedrich Gernsheim: The Two Piano Quintets

  1. :

    “Another amazing Toccata discovery is the chamber music of Friedrich Gernsheim (1839-1916). … I am overwhelmed by these two works. They are incredibly alive, passionate, rhythmically dramatic, and melodically blessed. Brahms clone? Here Gernsheim is in competition with the master for the top rung. The Art Vio Quartet and Pianist Edouard Oganessian play as if their lives depended on it. This is a major find.” —Robert Reilly, CatholiCity

Add a review

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

For security, use of Google's reCAPTCHA service is required which is subject to the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.

If you agree to these terms, please click here.