Ferenc Farkas: Chamber Music, Volume Five – Works for Flute and Oboe

Catalogue No: TOCC0440
EAN/UPC: 5060113444400
Release Date: 2021-07-02
Composer: Ferenc Farkas
Artists: András Adorján, András Csáki, Antal Váradi, Balázs Szokolay, Lajos Lencsés

This twelfth release in the Toccata Classics exploration of the music of Ferenc Farkas (1905–2000) once again puts his chamber music with flute in the spotlight – here with an oboe chaser. As with previous albums in this series, the music highlights the characteristics that make Farkas’ music so appealing: catchy tunes, transparent textures, buoyant rhythms, a fondness for Baroque forms and a taste for the folk-music of his native Hungary that marks him out as a true successor to Bartók and Kodály. The works in this recording are almost all reworkings – by Farkas or the two soloists here – of music first written for different forces and now taking on a new lease of life.

András Adorján, flute (Tracks 1–15)
Lajos Lencsés, oboe (Tracks 15, 19–22), oboe d’amore (Tracks 23–26), cor anglais (Track 27)
András Csáki, guitar (Track 12)
Balázs Szokolay, piano (Tracks 1–11, 13–21)
Antal Váradi, organ (Tracks 22–27)

Listen To This Recording:

    Early Hungarian Dances from the 17th Century (1940s, rev. for flute and piano, 1987)

  1. I Allegro moderato
  2. II Andante moderato
  3. III Allegro
  4. IV Allegro
  5. Sonatina No. 1 (1930; adapt. Adorján for flute and piano, 2019)

  6. I Allegro con slancio
  7. II Largo
  8. III Presto
  9. Gyógyulóban for flute and piano (‘Recovering’; 1982)*

  10. Gyógyulóban (‘Recovering’)
  11. Sonatina No. 2 (1931; adapt. Adorján for flute and piano, 2019)*

  12. I Allegro molto
  13. II Andante
  14. III Scherzando
  15. Variazioni ungheresi (1963; adapt. Adorján for flute and guitar, 2019)*

  16. Variazioni ungheresi
  17. Meditazione for flute and piano (1990)*

  18. Meditazione
  19. Alla danza ungherese (1934; adapt. Adorján for flute and piano, 2019)

  20. Alla danza ungherese
  21. Aria e rondo all’ungherese for flute, oboe and piano (1994)

  22. Aria e rondo all’ungherese
  23. Three Burlesques for piano (1940)*

  24. No. 1 Allegro
  25. No. 2 Moderato, comodo
  26. No. 3 Allegro
  27. Sonatina No. 3 (1959; transcr. Lencsés for oboe and piano, 2019)

  28. I Allegro non troppo
  29. II Andante moderato
  30. III Allegro
  31. Epithalamium for oboe and organ (1973)

  32. Epithalamium
  33. Cantiones optimae (1968; adapt. Lencsés for oboe d’amore and organ, 2019)

  34. I ‘Bátorítás a halál ellen’ (‘Encouragement before Death’)
  35. II ‘Könyörgés’ (‘Imploration’)
  36. III ‘Mária-ének’ (‘Song to Mary’)
  37. IV ‘Ó Jézus, szűzen született’ (‘O, Jesus born of a virgin’)
  38. Arioso (1926: adapt. Lencsés for cor anglais and organ, 2019)

  39. Arioso



There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Ferenc Farkas: Chamber Music, Volume Five – Works for Flute and Oboe”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *