Théodore Dubois: Chamber Music


Catalogue No: TOCC0362
EAN/UPC: 5060113443625
Release Date: 04.06.2021
Composer: Théodore Dubois
Artists: Antal Váradi, Budapest Strings, Carole Dubois, Gustavo Surgik, Lajos Lencsés, Leo Lencsés, Quatuor Parisii, Renie Yamahata

The music of Théodore Dubois (1837–1924) has rather been overshadowed by that of other French composers of the same period, not least Fauré and Saint-Saëns. But Dubois does not deserve his relative neglect: not only was he a superlative craftsman, but he could also unfold a fetching melody and had a strong sense of musical narrative. This recital of chamber works for oboe and strings is noteworthy for a further quality, one often underestimated: much of the music is, quite simply, charming.

Lajos Lencsés, oboe (Tracks 1 – 5, 10, 13, 14)
Gustavo Surgik, violin (Track 5)
Leo Lencsés, cello (Track 13, 14)
Carole Dubois, piano (Track 1 – 4)
Antal Váradi, organ (Tracks 5, 10)
Renie Yamahata, harp (Track 10)
Quatuor Parisii
Arnaud Vallin, violin (Tracks 1 – 4, 6-9, 11-12)
Doriane Gable, violin (Tracks 6-9, 11-12)
Dominique Lobet, viola (Tracks 1-4, 6-9, 11-12)
Jean-Philippe Martignoni, cello (Tracks 1-4, 6-9, 11-12)
Budapest Strings (Tracks 10, 13, 14)

Listen To This Recording:

    Quintet in F major for violin, oboe, viola, cello and piano (1905)

  1. I Allegro
  2. II Canzonetta
  3. III Adagio non troppo
  4. IV Allegro con fuoco
  5. Méditation for violin, oboe and organ (1900)

  6. Méditation
  7. String Quartet No. 1 in E flat major (1909)*

  8. I Larghetto – Allegro – Larghetto
  9. II Allegro animato e molto leggiero
  10. III Larghetto
  11. IV Allegro vivo – Larghetto – Allegro Vivo
  12. Méditation-Prière, Op.17, for oboe, strings, harp and organ (publ. 1869)**

  13. Méditation-Prière, Op. 17
  14. Petits rêves d’enfants for string quartet (1903)*

  15. I Andantino
  16. II Andantino grazioso
  17. Deux pièces en forme canonique for oboe, cello and strings (1901)

  18. No. 1 Adagio, molto espressivo
  19. No. 2 Allegretto grazioso



There are no reviews yet.

Only logged in customers who have purchased this product may leave a review.