Emil Tabakov: Complete Symphonies, Volume One

Emil Tabakov: Complete Symphonies, Volume One

The Bulgarian Emil Tabakov (b. 1947) follows in the footsteps of such musicians as Gustav Mahler and Richard Strauss, being active as both composer and conductor. Like Mahler, he prefers to write for large forces and now has nine symphonies to his name. Again like Mahler, Tabakov’s symphonies explore the darker side of the human spirit in epic scores as austere as they are powerful. In the atmospheric and expansive Symphony No. 8 (2007–9), the dynamism suppressed in the first two movements is released in a cathartic discharge of energy in the finale. The ebullient Five Bulgarian Dances provide a complete contrast, taking Balkan folk-rhythms as the basis for their pile-driving vigour.

Bulgarian National Radio Symphony Orchestra
Emil Tabakov, conductor

Select a Format:

Catalogue No: TOCC0365
EAN/UPC: 5060113443656
Release Date: 01.08.2016
Composer: Emil Tabakov
Artists: Bulgarian National Radio Symphony Orchestra, Emil Tabakov


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Emil Tabakov: Complete Symphonies, Volume One”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *