Emil Tabakov: Complete Symphonies, Volume Two

Catalogue No: TOCC0410
EAN/UPC: 5060113444103
Release Date: 2017-07-01
Composer: Emil Tabakov
Artists: Alexander Zemtsov, Bulgarian National Radio Symphony Orchestra, Emil Tabakov

The Bulgarian Emil Tabakov (b. 1947) follows in the footsteps of such musicians as Gustav Mahler and Richard Strauss, being active as both composer and conductor. Like Mahler, he prefers to write for large forces and now has nine symphonies to his name. Again like Mahler, Tabakov’s symphonies explore the darker side of the human spirit in epic scores as austere as they are powerful. Both the First Symphony and the Viola Concerto use small motifs to build up compelling symphonic structures, generating expansive, sometimes bleak, post-Shostakovichian landscapes that can explode with violence and energy.

1 review for Emil Tabakov: Complete Symphonies, Volume Two

  1. :

    ‘Zemtsov’s technically assured playing reaps rich dividends. The engineers have struck an ideal balance between soloist and orchestral forces, which is a plus. […]

    The orchestral playing is vivid, and I welcome the wealth of orchestral detail revealed in the performances; it’s certainly an advantage having the composer conduct his own score. Paul Conway’s superb, informative annotations are an added bonus.’

    —Stephen Greenbank, MusicWeb International

Add a review

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *