Choral Songs in honour of Her Majesty Queen Victoria

Catalogue No: TOCC0012
EAN/UPC: 5060113440129
Release Date: 2009-03-12
Artists: Aidan Oliver, Spirtus Chamber Choir

In celebration of Queen Victoria’s 80th birthday in 1899, thirteen of the leading composers and poets of the day collaborated on a collection of partsongs to rival their Elizabethan model, The Triumphs of Oriana. Published in a limited edition of only 100 copies, this superb sequence, studded with musical gems, provides a fascinating snapshot of the British musical renaissance on the eve of the twentieth century.

Spiritus Chamber Choir, choir
Aidan Oliver, director

Listen To This Recording:

  1. Lady on the Silver Throne (Gosse)
  2. With still increasing blessings (Marquis of Lorne)
  3. A thousand years, by sea and land (Newbolt)
  4. To her beneath whose stedfast star (Myers)
  5. Out in the windy West (Benson)
  6. For all the wonder of thy regal day (Earl of Crewe)
  7. Flora’s Queen (Stainer)
  8. A Century’s Penultimate (James)
  9. With wisdom, goodness, grace (Austin)
  10. Who can dwell with greatness! (Dobson)
  11. Hark! The world is full of thy praise (Bridges)
  12. The seaboards are her mantle’s hem (Davidson)
  13. The Triumph of Victoria (Warren)

1 review for Choral Songs in honour of Her Majesty Queen Victoria

  1. :

    ‘This is a beautifully produced CD. It feels good, looks great and sounds superb. The quality of the singing is both near-perfect and enthusiastic. The programme notes by Lewis Foreman are a model of erudition and interest: a virtual dissertation on the subject which is illuminating and helpful. Texts of these poems are also provided.’

    —John France, MusicWeb International

Add a review

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *