Stephen DODGSON: Chamber Music, Volume Four: Music for Winds I

Discovery Club Members Save 30%!
Login or Join Today

Catalogue No: TOCC0453
EAN/UPC: 5060113444530
Release Date: 2019-03-15
Composer: Stephen Dodgson
Artists: Kate Howden, Magnard Ensemble

This fourth album in the Toccata Classics survey of the chamber music of London- born Stephen Dodgson (1924–2013) offers a first instalment of his many works for woodwinds. Much of it brings Dodgson’s sense of fun to the fore, often through rhythmic mischief or an insouciance that recalls Poulenc, but it also has that particularly English strain of lyricism that suggests the impermanence of beauty.

Kate Howden, mezzo-soprano (Tracks 4–7)
Magnard Ensemble (Tracks 1–3, 17–21)
Suzannah Clements, flute (Tracks 1–3)
Mana Shibata, oboe (Tracks 8–10, 14–16)
Joseph Shiner, clarinet (Tracks 4–10)
Catriona McDermid, bassoon (Tracks 8–10, 14–16)
Jonathan Farey, horn (Tracks 11–13)
Suling King, piano (Tracks 4–7, 11–16)

Listen To This Recording:

    Sonata for Wind Quintet (1977)

  1. I Vivace
  2. II Lento e sostenuto
  3. III Allegro non troppo, giocoso
  4. Gipsy Songs (1976)

  5. I A Tattered Nation
  6. II Ptolemys Bells
  7. III The Lord Treasurers Fortune is Told
  8. IV The Faery Beam upon you
  9. Wind in the Reeds (2009)

  10. I Lively and accented
  11. II Songful and expressive
  12. III Bright and playful
  13. Sonata for Horn and Piano (1967)

  14. I Allegro non tanto
  15. II Andantino
  16. III Moderato e maestoso
  17. Trio for Oboe, Bassoon and Piano (1973)

  18. I Prelude
  19. II Fly-by-Night
  20. III Variations
  21. Five Minutes for Wind Quintet (2008)

  22. I First Light
  23. II Scamper
  24. III Sommeil
  25. IV Mischief
  26. V Pigeon Chorus


1 review for Stephen DODGSON: Chamber Music, Volume Four: Music for Winds I

  1. :

    ‘This is a splendid disc, one which is expertly performed throughout by the Magnard Ensemble, I was particularly impressed by their horn player Jonathan Farey, who rises to all the challenges posed by the wonderful Horn Sonata as well as the two works for wind quintet, but all the members of this group are on top form, I hope they are involved in subsequent volumes of the wind chamber music. The recorded sound is excellent as are the booklet notes, which are exemplary, making this an invaluable addition to any collection of Stephen Dodgson’s music, and English wind music as a whole.’

    —Stuart Sillitoe, MusicWeb International

Add a review

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *