Vissarion SHEBALIN: Orchestral Music, Volume Two


Catalogue No: TOCC0164
EAN/UPC: 5060113441645
Release Date: 07.02.2020
Composer: Vissarion Shebalin
Artists: Dmitry Vasilyev, Siberian Symphony Orchestra

Like his close friend and colleague Dmitry Shostakovich, Vissarion Shebalin (1902–63) knew a life of both celebrity and hardship: he was another of the composers condemned in the infamous 1948 Party congress in Moscow, and in later life he fought to overcome a series of crippling strokes. But his personality remained undaunted, as his music resolutely proves. This is the first recording of his Third and Fourth Suites and Ballet Suite, all three prepared from theatre music, and showing the lighter side of Shebalin’s symphonic muse, similar in style to the dance music of Shostakovich and Prokofiev. They have been recorded by the orchestra of his home town, Omsk, the capital of Siberia.

Siberian Symphony Orchestra
Dmitry Vasiliev, conductor

Listen To This Recording:

    Orchestral Suite No. 3, Op. 61 (1935)
    Arranged by Leonid Feigin, 1963

  1. I Introduction
  2. II Laura’s Dance
  3. III Habanera
  4. IV Intermezzo
  5. V Scene and Serenade
  6. Orchestral Suite No. 3, Op. 61 VI Chant in the Convent
  7. VII Fast Dance
  8. VIII Finale
  9. Orchestral Suite No. 4, Op. 62 (1958)
    Arranged by Vladislav Agafonnikov, 1986

  10. I Introduction
  11. II Arrival of the Guests
  12. Orchestral Suite No. 4, Op. 62:III Waltz
  13. IV Erlynne’s Wait
  14. V Dance of the Dolls
  15. VI Farewell Waltz
  16. Ballet Suite (1958)
    Arranged by Leonid Feigin, 1973

  17. I Introduction and Waltz
  18. II Nocturne
  19. III Dance of the Girls
  20. IV Adagio
  21. V Gavotte
  22. VI Slow Waltz
  23. VII Galop



There are no reviews yet.

Only logged in customers who have purchased this product may leave a review.