Sergei Vasilenko: Complete Music for Viola and Piano


Catalogue No: TOCC0127
EAN/UPC: 5060113441270
Release Date: 05.09.2011
Composer: Sergei Vasilenko
Artists: Elena Artamonova, Nicholas Walker

The Russian composer Sergei Vasilenko (1872-1956) was influenced by the nineteenth-century nationalist school, by his teacher Taneyev and by Scriabin, adding an interest in Symbolism and hints of early modernism. The discovery of the seven viola compositions on this CD — most of them unknown before now — not only expands the repertoire of the instrument; it also points to the courage of a composer who spent his life treading the tight-rope between his own musical interests and the demands of Soviet 'socialist realism'.

Elena Artamonova, viola
Nicholas Walker, piano

Listen To This Recording:

    Viola Sonata, Op. 46 (1923)

  1. I. Allegro moderato
  2. II. Andante amorevole
  3. III. Fughetta. Molto energico
  4. IV. Tempo del commincio (Allegro moderato)
  5. Lullaby (c. 1952)
  6. Four Pieces on Old Lute Music, Op. 35 (1918)

  7. No. 1, Pavane
  8. No. 2, Madonna Tenerina
  9. No. 3, Serenade for the Lady of my Heart
  10. No. 4, Knights
  11. Sleeping River (1951)
  12. Oriental Dance, Op. 47 (1922)
  13. Suite Zodiakus I.A.S. after Unknown Authors of the Eighteenth Century (c. 1914)

  14. No. 1, Ouverture
  15. No. 2, Passacaille
  16. No. 3, Minuet
  17. No. 4, Plainte
  18. No. 5, Musette
  19. Four Pieces (1953)

  20. No. 1, Prelude
  21. No. 2, Etude
  22. No. 3, Legend
  23. No. 4, Scherzo


There are no reviews yet.

Only logged in customers who have purchased this product may leave a review.