Ferdinand Thieriot: Chamber Music, Volume One

Catalogue No: TOCC0080
EAN/UPC: 5060113440808
Release Date: 2010-02-22
Composer: Ferdinand Thieriot
Artists: The Hamburg Chamber Players

Ferdinand Thieriot (1836-1919) was, like Johannes Brahms, a student of Eduard Marxsen in Hamburg; Brahms remained a friend in later years — and Thieriot's music does indeed have a Brahmsian warmth and richness. His works, the chamber music especially, was popular during his own lifetime but since his death in 1919 it has been totally forgotten — not least because the archives containing his manuscripts were taken to Leningrad after the Second World War. It is time to rediscover this generous and big-hearted music, which overflows with memorable melodies.

Piano Quintet, Op. 20
Theme and Variations, Op. 29
String Sextet in D major

Listen To This Recording:

    Piano Quintet in D major, Op. 20 (pub. 1869, 1894)

  1. 1: Allegro con spirito
  2. 2: Adagio
  3. 3: Scherzo – Presto
  4. 4: Allegro con moto
  5. Theme and Variations, Op. 29, for two cellos and piano (1883)

  6. Thema: Tempo moderato
  7. Var. I: Poco Allegro
  8. Var. II
  9. Var. III
  10. Var. IV: Andante
  11. Var. V: Allegro
  12. Var. VI
  13. Var. VII
  14. Var. VIII
  15. Var. IX: Più Allegro
  16. Var. X: Tempo moderato
  17. Var. XI: Fughetta – Poco Allegro
  18. Var. XII: Andante
  19. String Sextet in D major

  20. 1: Allegro non troppo
  21. 2: Intermezzo – Allegro – Vivace
  22. 3: Adagio non troppo
  23. 4: Allegro vivace

3 reviews for Ferdinand Thieriot: Chamber Music, Volume One

  1. :

    ‘Thieriot distinguished himself mainly in the field of chamber music… His Piano Quintet on the Toccata CD can easily stand with the more famous piano quintets of Schumann, Dvořák, and Brahms.’

    —Jerry Dubins, Fanfare Magazine

  2. :

    ‘Where have these works been all your life? […]

    The excellent notes are by Walter Zielke. They set the scene but say practically nothing about his other works. It would have been good to have trailed some details of his symphonies.

    The performances have a golden age security and glow.’

    —Rob Barnett, MusicWeb International

  3. :

    ‘there are times when words truly fail to convey the beauty of a work, and this is one of them. The most prevalent influence in the quintet seems to be Schumann, but Schumann could not have crafted a work of such expansiveness, such outpouring of nonstop melody, and such sustained generosity of emotional expression. Hearing this work, it’s hard not to shout, “MASTERPIECE!” This is going on my next Want List for sure. […]

    My mouth is watering for the next installment.’

    —Jerry Dubins, Fanfare Magazine, July/August 2013

Add a review

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *