Giuseppe Tartini: 30 Sonate piccole, Volume Two

Discovery Club Members Save 30%!
Login or Join Today

Catalogue No: TOCC0208
EAN/UPC: 5060113442086
Release Date: 2013-09-02
Composer: Giuseppe Tartini
Artists: Peter Sheppard Skærved

In the last years of his life, the great composer, violinist and swordsman Giuseppe Tartini (1692-1770) laboured at a cycle of sonatas for solo violin. The resulting manuscript offers the most important composition for solo violin after Bach and, at six hours in duration, the largest integrated work for the instrument. This first complete recording is based on a fresh study of the source and includes a number of works in Tartini's shorthand, overlooked in earlier editions.

Peter Sheppard Skærved, violin

Listen To This Recording:

    Sonata No. 7 in A minor (mid 18th c.)

  1. I Adagio
  2. II Allegro
  3. III Tema con variazione
  4. IV [Allegro assai]
  5. Sonata No. 8 in G minor (mid 18th c.)

  6. I Andante
  7. II Allegro
  8. III Affettuoso
  9. IV Allegro assai
  10. Sonata No. 9 in A major (mid 18th c.)

  11. I Largo andante
  12. II Allegro
  13. III Allegro
  14. IV Allegro assai
  15. V Menuet
  16. Sonata No. 10 in B flat major (mid 18th c.)

  17. I Largo
  18. II Allegro
  19. III Subito affettuoso
  20. IV Menuet
  21. Sonata No. 11 in E major (mid 18th c.)

  22. I Andante cantabile
  23. II Allegro
  24. III [Siciliana]
  25. IV Menuet
  26. V Allegro assai
  27. Sonata No. 12 in G major (mid 18th c.)

  28. I Tasso
  29. II Grave ‘Il tormento di quest’anima’
  30. III Canzone Veneziana
  31. IV ‘Quanto mai felici siete’
  32. V Tema con Variazioni

2 reviews for Giuseppe Tartini: 30 Sonate piccole, Volume Two

  1. :

    ‘…Tartini’s interest in and enthusiasm for birdsong and nature depiction was always subtle. But the folkloric hints in the A major are unmistakeable, especially the penultimate of the five movements in which birdsong and songfulness are fundamental parts of the musical equation. Here one feels quite strongly the violinistic river that runs from Tartini through the entire French School from Kreutzer to Rode and on to Baillot… All the virtues of the first volume are reprised in this second release, and one waits impatiently for the series to unfold.’

    —Jonathan Woolf, MusicWeb International

  2. :

    ‘…As does the first volume, this second one provides listeners with the chance to hear more of the sonatas than have previously been available on recordings by one violinist and will therefore make possible greater appreciation of their musical and violinistic qualities.’

    —Robert Maxham, Fanfare Magazine

Add a review

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *