Giuseppe Tartini: 30 Sonate piccole, Volume One

In the last years of his life, the great composer, violinist and swordsman Giuseppe Tartini (1692-1770) laboured at a cycle of sonatas for solo violin. The resulting manuscript offers the most important composition for solo violin after Bach and, at six hours in duration, the largest integrated work for the instrument. This first complete recording is based on a fresh study of the source and includes a number of works in Tartini's shorthand, overlooked in earlier editions.

Peter Sheppard Skærved, violin

Listen To This Recording:

    Sonata No. 1 in G major (mid 18th c.)

  1. I Molto andante
  2. II Allegro cantabile
  3. III Allegro
  4. IV Giga
  5. Sonata No. 2 in D minor (mid 18th c.)

  6. I Siciliana
  7. II Allegro
  8. III Allegro affettuoso
  9. Sonata No. 3 in D Major (mid 18th c.)

  10. I Andante Cantabile
  11. II Allegro
  12. III Giga
  13. IV Allegro assai
  14. Sonata No. 4 in C major (mid 18th c.)

  15. I Andante cantabile
  16. II Allegro assai
  17. III Grave
  18. IV Presto
  19. Sonata No. 5 in F major (mid 18th c.)

  20. I Andante cantabile
  21. II Allegro
  22. III Allegro assai
  23. IV Il tormento di questo cuore
  24. Sonata No. 6 in E minor (mid 18th c.)

  25. I Andante cantabilesenti lo mare
  26. II Allegro cantabile
  27. III Giga
(2 customer reviews)

Catalogue No: TOCC0146
EAN/UPC: 5060113441461
Release Date: 03.12.2012
Composer: Giuseppe Tartini
Artists: Peter Sheppard Skærved

2 reviews for Giuseppe Tartini: 30 Sonate piccole, Volume One

  1. :

    “Skærved has a fine sense of Baroque style and an understated virtuosity that fits these pieces very well. He is suitably upbeat, even celebratory, in the major-key works (Nos. 1 in G, 3 in D, 4 in C and the somewhat more understated No. 5 in F); and he brings tenderness and slight melancholy – but only to an appropriate degree – to those in minor keys (Nos. 2 in D minor and 6 in E minor). A full hour of solo-violin music can be a lot to listen to, but just as with Bach’s solo-violin works, Tartini’s encompass such a wide range of moods and techniques, and contain so much that is interesting both technically and emotionally, that they are a pleasure from start to finish.” —Infodad

  2. :

    muy bella musica….

Only logged in customers who have purchased this product may leave a review.