Stravinsky Seen and Heard

ISBN: 978-0-907689-02-7
Release Date: 1982-01-01
Composer: Igor Stravinsky
Author: Hans Keller, Milein Cosman
Series: Composer Studies

Superseded by Stravinsky the Music-Maker
Extent: 128 pages
Composition: Demy octavo ~ Illustrated ~ Index

A unique collaboration between Hans Keller and his artist wife Milein Cosman throws light on one of the century’s most elusive musical geniuses. In this book Keller analyses not only Stravinsky’s conversion to serial technique but also those elements of his creative character, never yet touched upon, which made this dramatic change of mind possible. Keller’s discoveries thus complement Milein Cosman’s concentrated, extended character study; together, they throw new light on one of the most influential figures in twentieth-century music – who remains a subject of controversy.

3 reviews for Stravinsky Seen and Heard

  1. :

    “This marvellous book has an absorbing and provocative character. […] Milein Cosman’s drawings of the composer […] leap from the page, full of vibrant life.”

    —Robert Matthew-WalkeMusic and Musicians

  2. :

    “At last, a book which discusses the fundamental impulses behind the writing of music.” Amazon Review

  3. :

    ‘This is the first Toccata Press publication to come my way – a superbly produced book of real substance at this price: how do they do it? In content it is a 50/50 job: half, intellectual, Keller; the other half, his visually perceptive wife. […]

    There is much food for thought here. I see myself returning to the book often, and with profit. Warmly recommended.’

    —Andrew Seivewright, MusicWeb International

Add a review

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *