Steve Elcock: Chamber Music, Volume Two: String Quartets

The English composer Steve Elcock (b. 1957) spent years writing music without ever expecting it to be heard: based in rural France, he worked as a translator, composing in his spare time. The emergence of his orchestral and chamber music on Toccata Classics over the past few years has led to his being acclaimed as one of the most important composers at work today. This recording of his four works (to date) for string quartet confirms that judgement: all in single spans, they generate tension and energy in equal measure – animated, in one of them, by a lively sense of humour.

The Tippett Quartet
John Mills and Jeremy Isaac, violins
Lydia Lowndes-Northcott, viola
Božidar Vukotić, cello

Listen To This Recording:

    The Cage of Opprobrium, Op. 22 (2014)

  1. Largo –
  2. Allegretto –
  3. Largo –
  4. Allegro –
  5. Largo come prima
  6. The Girl from Marseille, Op. 17 (2010)

  7. Variation I (Poco Andante)
  8. Variation II (Allegro)
  9. Variation III (Allegro molto)
  10. Variation IV (Largo)
  11. Variation V (Allegro)
  12. Variation VI (Andante)
  13. Variation VII (Vivace)
  14. Variation VIII (Poco Allegro, Tempo di valse, Più allegro, Presto),
  15. The Aftermath of Longing, Op. 36 (2021)

  16. Largo –
  17. Solenne –
  18. Tranquillo –
  19. Gelidamente –
  20. Allegro –
  21. Largo
  22. Night after Night, Op. 27 (2017)

  23. Somniloquy –
  24. Pavor Nocturnus –
  25. Somniloquy –
  26. Per noctem plurima volvens –
  27. Somniloquy –
  28. Incubus


This item will be released on 7 April 2023.

Catalogue No: TOCC0688
EAN/UPC: 5060113446886
Release Date: 07.04.2023
Composer: Steve Elcock
Artists: Tippett Quartet


There are no reviews yet.

Only logged in customers who have purchased this product may leave a review.