Steve Elcock: Chamber Music, Volume One

Catalogue No: TOCC0506
EAN/UPC: 5060113445063
Release Date: 2018-12-01
Composer: Steve Elcock
Artists: Catalina Ardelean, Daniel Shao, Leon Bosch, Peter Cigleris, The Veles Ensemble, Yuri Kalnits

The English composer Steve Elcock (b. 1957) spent years writing music without ever expecting it to be heard. The works on this first album of his chamber music show contrasting aspects of his style: the Clarinet Sextet and The Shed Dances are immediately appealing in their melodiousness, harmonic language and mischievous sense of humour, whereas the String Trio No. 1, with its stark juxtaposition of contrasts, and the sextet An Outstretched Hand, which treads a fine line between grief and consolation, both offer powerful comment on our troubled 21st century.

The Veles Ensemble
Daniel Shao, flute (Track 11)
Peter Cigleris, clarinet (Tracks 1–3, 5–11)
Yuri Kalnits, violin (Tracks 1–3)
Leon Bosch, double bass (Tracks 1–3)
Catalina Ardelean, piano (Track 11)

Listen To This Recording:

    Clarinet Sextet, Op. 11b, for clarinet and string quintet (2001/2014)

  1. I Allego commodo
  2. II Romanza (Largo – Doppio movimento – Largo)
  3. III Variations and Theme (Allegro – Meno mosso – Doppio movimento – Più mosso – Tempo commodo – Como in principio)
  4. String Trio No. 1, Op. 8b (1998/2016)

  5. Precipitoso – Adagissimo – Andante
  6. The Shed Dances, Op. 26b, for clarinet and string trio (2016)

  7. No. 1 Disgruntled waltz: Allegro
  8. No. 2 Petrified minuet: Tempo di menuetto
  9. No. 3 Leaden clog dance: Moderato
  10. No. 4 Boneyard antics: Andante – subito allegro molto – Andante
  11. No. 5 Marion’s pavane: Andante
  12. No. 6 Rampant scavenger: Presto
  13. An Outstretched Hand, Op. 24, for flute, clarinet and piano quartet (2015)

  14. Largo – Allegro molto – Allegro molto – Largo


1 review for Steve Elcock: Chamber Music, Volume One

  1. :

    ‘Its evangelical proprietor Martin Anderson has almost single-handedly unearthed an exciting netherworld of musical creativity which has caught many of us so-called critics unaware – nor has this proved to be merely a tokenistic identification exercise. By hook or by crook Anderson has pulled off one logistical miracle after another, somehow finding the time, the musicians and the funding to record and release a series of discs which is effectively forcing reviewers like me into a radical reappraisal of the British classical scene. […]

    The contributions of all eight musicians to the success of this disc are terrific. They approach each of Elcock’s works as though their lives depended on it, and the performances consequently encompass the entire emotional gamut between lightness and intensity. The Toccata sound is impressive too, natural, honest and detailed. This disc represents a first- class calling card for an accomplished, talented and dare I say important composer; lovers of English music shouldn’t miss it on any account.’

    —Richard Hanlon, MusicWeb International

Add a review

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *