Percy Sherwood: Complete Works for Cello and Piano

The Anglo-German composer Percy Sherwood, born in 1866, seems to have slipped through the cracks of history, although he has an impressive output of orchestral, chamber, choral and instrumental music to his credit. He was once an important figure in his native Dresden, where he owned an imposing villa, but after moving to Britain at the beginning of the First World War he faded from view and by the time of his death in London in 1939 his music was as good as forgotten. This first CD in a series of Sherwood recordings — the first-ever dedicated to his music — reveals a major lost Romantic, with a style that is both lyrical and passionate.

Joseph Spooner, cello
David Owen Norris, piano


Catalogue No: TOCC0145
EAN/UPC: 5060113441454
Release Date: 25.06.2012
Composer: Percy Sherwood
Artists: David Owen Norris, Joseph Spooner

Listen To This Recording:

    Cello Sonata No. 1, Op. 10 (1891)

  1. I. Allegro moderato
  2. II. Adagio ma non troppo
  3. III. Finale: Presto
  4. Drei Stücke, Op. 14 (?1900)

  5. No. 1 Legende: Andante
  6. No. 2 Intermezzo: Allegretto, teneramente
  7. No. 3 Saltarello: Presto
  8. Cello Sonata No. 2, Op. 15 (1900)

  9. I. Allegro vivace
  10. II. Legende: Andante semplice ed espressivo
  11. III. Minuetto: Allegretto grazioso
  12. IV. Finale: Allegro molto
  13. Fünf kleine Stücke für Cello und Pianoforte (1886t87)

  14. No. 1 Molto moderato
  15. No. 2 Menuett: Grazioso, non troppo allegro
  16. No. 3 Adagio
  17. No. 4 Andante
  18. No. 5 Serenade: Andantino

2 reviews for Percy Sherwood: Complete Works for Cello and Piano

  1. :

    “A long time champion of lesser known cello repertoire, Joseph Spooner deserves great credit for taking the time and effort to give us loving performances of the selections here. Along with pianist David Owen Norris’ sympathetic accompaniment, he makes this a sterling disc of discovery. Made at the University of Southampton’s Turner Sims Concert Hall in England, the recordings present a compact soundstage with the two instruments ideally balanced. The cello tone is glowing, and the piano well rounded, making for an exceptionally musical sounding disc.” —Bob McQuiston, CLOFO

  2. :

    “… not just very well-written, but so full of fire and character and with individuality all its own. Music of this kind needs such a cellist of character to bring it to life and here we are particularly fortunate that Joseph Spooner responds to this music with total dedication and passionate commitment, combined with a distinctive cello sound and personality which brings out all the inherent qualities. He is partnered by the ever-supportive and imaginative David Owen Norris in the fine acoustics os Southampton University …. A particular bonus is the fulsome booklet note from Joseph, which amounts to a mini-biography in itself ( I have never seen so many footnotes – 55!). An excellent bargain and a brilliant introduction to Percy Sherwood’s rediscovery.” —Michael Jones, BMS News

Add a review

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *