Robert Fürstenthal: Chamber Music, Volume Three

Catalogue No: TOCC0577
EAN/UPC: 5060113445772
Release Date: 2020-11-06
Composer: Robert Fürstenthal
Artists: The Rossetti Ensemble

When Germany invaded Austria in 1938, Robert Fürstenthal, born in 1920, took the path of many Viennese Jews and fled to the United States, where he made his living as an accountant; the fact that he had written music in his youth was soon forgotten. Reconnection, after 35 years, with the woman who had been his first love rekindled both that flame and his urge to compose, and from then on songs and chamber music flowed from his pen, preserving the spirit of fin-de-siècle Vienna under the Californian sun – ‘When I compose, I am back in Vienna’, he explained. He died in November 2016, aged 96, knowing that his lyrical, eloquent music was at last attracting the attention of both musicians and microphones.

The Rossetti Ensemble
Nicholas Korth, horn (1–4)
Timothy Lowe, cello (5–8)
Malcolm Messiter, oboe (9–12)
Martyn Jackson, violin (15–18)
Sara Trickey, violin (15–18)
Sarah-Jane Bradley, viola (13–18)
John Lenehan, piano (1–14)

Listen To This Recording:

    Sonata for Horn and Piano in D minor, Op. 54

  1. I Andante
  2. II Scherzo: Allegretto
  3. III Adagio
  4. IV Grave – Allegro con brio
  5. Sonata for Cello and Piano in C sharp minor, Op. 44

  6. I Allegro
  7. II Scherzando
  8. III Cantabile
  9. IV Agitato
  10. Sonata for Oboe and Piano in E flat minor, Op. 50

  11. I Ruhig
  12. II Lebhaft
  13. III Sehr innig
  14. IV Bewegt
  15. Sonata for Viola and Piano in F sharp minor, Op. 60a

  16. I Andante
  17. II Lento – Allegro moderato
  18. String Quartet in B minor, Op. 40

  19. I Allegro
  20. II Scherzando
  21. II Lento
  22. IV Andante



There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Robert Fürstenthal: Chamber Music, Volume Three”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *