John Pickard: Chamber Music

Reviews of music by the English composer John Pickard (b. 1963) have stated that 'he has the technique and the temperament to emerge as one of the great symphonists of the 21st century', even that 'his place among the greats is secure'. This conspectus of his chamber music traces the evolution of his style over two decades, from the Piano Trio of 1990 to Snowbound of 2010, revealing a powerful rhythmic drive, a feeling for toughly argued drama and a poetic sensitivity to atmosphere among its most prominent characteristics.

Rupert Marshall-Luck, violin, viola
Sophie Harris, cello
Ian Mitchell, bass clarinet
Matthew Rickard, piano


Catalogue No: TOCC0150
EAN/UPC: 5060113441508
Release Date: 27.08.2012
Composer: John Pickard
Artists: Ian Mitchell, Matthew Rickard, Rupert Marshall-Luck, Sophie Harris

Listen To This Recording:

    Piano Trio (1990)

  1. I. ♩ = 144 –
  2. II. ♪ = 72 –
  3. III. ♩ = 144
  4. Insomnia for Violin and Piano (1997)
  5. Chaconne for Solo Viola (1998)
  6. Valedictions for Cello and Piano (1999–2000)

  7. 1. ‘… of Weeping’
  8. 2. ‘… forbidding Mourning’
  9. Sonata for Violin and Piano (2004)

  10. I. Allegro
  11. Presto possibile
  12. II. Adagio
  13. Snowbound for Bass Clarinet, Cello and Piano (2010)

1 review for John Pickard: Chamber Music

  1. :

    “…The playing is magnificent, leading me to ponder what a deep layer of talent there is on the musical scene. For example, and only an example, why pay top dollar to listen to Yo Yo Ma when Sophie Harris is on our own doorstep? …Likewise Michael Ponder, the producer-engineer of this Toccata issue, has achieved recording quality equal to, and maybe better than, most of the major companies: very present and dynamic with a nice space around the performers.” MusicWeb International

Add a review

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

For security, use of Google's reCAPTCHA service is required which is subject to the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.

If you agree to these terms, please click here.