Joaquín Nin-Culmell: Symphonie des Mystères

Catalogue No: TOCC0011
EAN/UPC: 5060113440112
Release Date: 2011-10-24
Composer: Joaquín Nin-Culmell
Artists: Richard Robertson, St. Martin's Chamber Choir, Timothy J. Krueger

Joaquín Nin-Culmell (1908–2004) was a student of Dukas and Falla and his early music reflects his Spanish background. The Symphonie des Mystères (1992–4) for alternating Gregorian chant and organ, is a product of the religious devotion of his old age, the chant sections setting in bold relief the austerely passionate organ commentaries, which have an affinity with Messiaen, as Nin-Culmell’s music traces a dramatic arch charting the birth, crucifixion and resurrection of Christ.

Richard Robertson, organ
St. Martin’s Chamber Choir, choir
Timothy J. Krueger, conductor

Listen To This Recording:

    Symphonie des Mystères: I. ‘Joyeux’ (‘Joyful’)

  1. Chant: Ave Maria (‘Hail Mary’)
  2. ‘SÈrÈnade’ (the Annunciation)
  3. Chant: Benedicta tu inter mulieres (‘Blessed art thou among women’)
  4. ‘Dialogue’ (the Visitation)
  5. Chant: Puer natus est nobis (‘A child is born to us’)
  6. ‘Il est nÈ!’ (‘He is born’)
  7. Chant: Lumen ad Revelationem gentium (‘A light to lighten the Gentiles’)
  8. ‘Offrande’ (the Presentation)
  9. Chant: Fili, quid fecisti nobis sic? (‘Son, why hast Thou done so to us?’)
  10. ‘Retrouvailles’ (Finding Jesus in the Temple)
  11. Symphonie des Mystères: II. ‘Douloureux’ (‘Sorrowful’)

  12. Chant: Pater, si non potest hic calix transire (‘Father, if this cup may not pass’)
  13. ‘Les gouttes de sang’ (‘Drops of Blood’)
  14. Chant: Ego te pavi manna per desertum (‘I fed you with manna in the desert’)
  15. ‘Les coups’ (‘Scourging’)
  16. Chant: Ego dedi tibi sceptrum regale (‘I gave thee a royal sceptre’)
  17. ‘La couronne d’Èpines’ (‘Crown of Thorns’)
  18. Chant: Christus factus est pro nobis obediens usque ad mortem (‘Christ for our sake became obedient unto death’)
  19. ‘Les blessures’ (‘Wounds’)
  20. Chant: Sanctus Immortalis, miserere nobis (‘Holy Immortal, have mercy on us’)
  21. ‘Les riviËres de sang’ (‘Rivers of Blood’)
  22. Symphonie des Mystères: III> ‘Glorieux’ (‘Glorious’)

  23. Chant: Et valde mane una sabbatorum (‘And very early on the first day of the week’)
  24. ‘Le lever du soleil’ (‘Sunrise’)
  25. Chant: Ascendit Deus in jubilatione (‘God ascends in rejoicing’)
  26. ‘Les nuages’ (‘Clouds’)
  27. Chant: Factus est repente de coelo sonus (‘Suddenly there came a sound from heaven’)
  28. ‘Le vent’ (‘Wind’, the Holy Spirit)
  29. Chant: Alleluia. Assumpta est Maria in caelum (‘Alleluia. Mary is taken up into heaven’)
  30. ‘La ceinture mystique (Lourdes)’ (‘The Mystical Cincture (Lourdes)’)
  31. Chant: Ave, Regina caelorum (‘Welcome, O Queen of Heaven’)
  32. ‘La couronne mystique’ (‘The Mystical Crown’) et retour de la Sèrènade


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Joaquín Nin-Culmell: Symphonie des Mystères”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *