Mozart: Cello Sonatas, Volume One

Catalogue No: TOCC0002
EAN/UPC: 5060113440020
Release Date: 01.05.2005
Composer: Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
Artists: Alexander Kniazev, Edouard Oganessian

Although Mozart wrote no fewer than 34 sonatas for violin and keyboard, he didn’t compose even one for cello. Alexander Kniazev’s remarkable transcriptions of three of the violin sonatas for cello and piano go some way to remedying that deficiency. They transform the works, too: the cello brings out the rich, proto-Romantic sonorities implicit in the music.

Alexander Kniazev, cello
Edouard Oganessian, piano

2 reviews for Mozart: Cello Sonatas, Volume One

  1. :

    ‘Regrettably, Mozart never got round to writing a work of substance for solo cello, but there’s absolutely no reason why cellists shouldn’t plunder his vast output for music which could work well on their instrument. Alexander Kniazev has certainly undertaken this act of piracy with relish, coming up with highly effective cello transcriptions of three of the master’s violin sonatas. There are even places in these works where the cello’s greater depth and range is preferable to the original, resulting in a more equally balanced and stimulating dialogue with the piano.’

    —Erik Levi, BBC Music Magazine

  2. :

    ‘I have been completely taken by Russian cellist Alexander Kniazev’s reworking of three of Mozart’s sonatas for violin and piano. Mozart has not only been transcribed for cello and piano; he has been Romanticized. And it works wonderfully well in these meltingly lovely performances by Kniazev and Russian pianist Edouard Oganessian. This is a special release, particularly if you already know this music. You will be surprised.’

    —Robert Reilly, Crisis Magazine

Add a review

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *