Mieczysław Weinberg: Complete Works for Violin and Piano, Volume Four

Catalogue No: TOCC0188
EAN/UPC: 5060113441881
Release Date: 2023-01-06
Composer: Mieczysław Weinberg
Artists: Igor Yuzefovich, Michael Csányi-Wills, Yuri Kalnits

In the past twenty years the Polish-born, Moscow-based Mieczysław Weinberg (1919–96) has been recognised as one of the major voices in twentieth-century music, equivalent in stature to his close friend Dmitry Shostakovich. This fourth and final volume of his music for solo violin, violin and piano and two violins completes the only survey to take all of these works into account. It presents music ranging from a startingly assured early score by the teenage Weinberg to works in which his personality is fully established and instantly recognisable.

Yuri Kalnits, violin
Igor Yuzefovich, violin (10–12)
Michael Csányi-Wills, piano (1–9)

Listen To This Recording:

    Concertino in A minor for Violin and Piano, Op. 42 (1948)

  1. I Allegretto cantabile
  2. II Cadenza. Lento – Adagio
  3. III Allegro moderato poco rubato
  4. Two Songs without Words (1947)

  5. No. 1 Andantino
  6. No. 2 Larghetto
  7. Three Pieces for Violin and Piano (1934–35)

  8. No. 1 Nocturne. Moderato
  9. No. 2 Scherzo. Allegro
  10. No. 3 Dream about a Doll. Moderato
  11. Sonata Movement (1944)

  12. Largo in F
  13. Sonata for Two Violins, Op. 69 (1959)

  14. I Allegro molto
  15. II Adagio
  16. III Allegro



There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Mieczysław Weinberg: Complete Works for Violin and Piano, Volume Four”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *